Gerard Way On The Possibility Of A My Chemical Romance Reunion: “I Miss Playing With The Guys, But I Don’t Think So”

During a recent interview with The Guardian, Gerard Way discussed the possibility of a My Chemical Romance reunion once again. The frontman said they do “get offers regularly” and that he does “miss playing with the guys,” but he doesn’t think it will happen.

Way said the following about the “Danger Days” sessions and the issues that started to arise:

“When things start to succeed and go really well, that’s when a lot of people start to have an opinion and that’s when you run into struggle. Everybody had a fucking opinion about what MCR should be. So it made it difficult to figure out what direction to take next. You get caught up in this trap of ‘Is it ever gonna be good enough?’”

He continued:

“It wasn’t fun to make stuff any more. I think breaking up the band broke us out of that machine.”

Way also said that band wasn’t needed anymore since the world was changing, especially during the President Obama-era. He also added the following when asked if they are needed in the current political climate:

“That’s stuff I thought about when the world started to get super fucked-up again. It definitely came into my head, but I’d changed so much as a person. I didn’t know how I’d fit into it any more, I didn’t know how the band would fit into it any more. But you’re right, the world is definitely in need of something positive.”

He continued:

“We definitely get offers regularly to reunite – it’s a constant thing. It’s flattering, it’s really nice of people … I miss playing with the guys, but I don’t think so …”


Gerard Way On My Chemical Romance: “I Think My Chem Will Always Be There For Us If We Want It”

Gerard Way was recently interviewed by iNews, and talked a bit about My Chemical Romance. The band probabaly won’t reunite in the foreseeable future, but he did say it “will always be there for [them] if [they] want it.”

Way said the following about trying to follow up “The Black Parade”:

“It was tough on all the guys. We scrapped records, spent millions of dollars and we were touring on this record, and it didn’t feel like the world needed My Chem anymore.”

He also talked about needing a break:

“I’m able to read the writing on the wall pretty clearly, and I was like, ‘Nobody really needs us now—I think it’s time to finish.”

He also discussed how great the band worked together:

“It’s a tricky thing, because you have four guys that really get along, and I think we all fully understand each other now and love each other.”

He further added the following about hanging out with the other members recently.

“We all got together recently and it was wonderful—we didn’t even talk about the band or playing shows again. I don’t know if anything will happen in the future, but what I do know is everyone has a really great life right now.”

As for the band’s future, he said:

“I think My Chem will always be there for us if we want it, but it adds a layer of stress. When something gets really big like that, it’s hard on you for many reasons, and it’s very stressful, so I wouldn’t want to disrupt anybody’s life right now.”

Mastodon, Green Day, My Chemical Romance, Linkin Park, Etc. Albums To Get New Vinyl Picture Disc Releases

Warner Bros. and Reprise have announced the release of various picture discs from multiple artists. Those albums include Mastodon’s “Blood Mountain,” “Crack The Skye,” and “The Hunter,” Green Day’s “Dookie” and “Revolution Radio,” My Chemical Romance’s “I Brought You My Bullets, You Brought Me Your Love” and “Three Cheers for Sweet Revenge,” Linkin Park’s “Minutes To Midnight,” and more. You can find those HERE. Some are available now, while others will be released at a later date.

Gerard Way Says He “Wouldn’t Count Out” A My Chemical Romance Reunion

Gerard Way was recently interviewed by Billboard about his work in the comic world, and was asked about the possibility of a My Chemical Romance Reunion. He responded with the following:

“I wouldn’t count [a reunion] out. At the same time, everybody’s doing stuff in their lives now that they’re really enjoying. In some ways I don’t really miss it. It had gotten so big it was very unwieldy. It took a toll on my mental life and personal life. The thing I’m happiest about right now is everybody’s relationships with each other are really strong. That’s more important than anything else to me.”

Way went on to say he did work with with My Chemical Romance guitarist Ray Toro on two songs called “Into the Cave We Wander” and “Pogi’s Cavern” for his “Cave Carson Has a Cybernetic Eye” book. He also said he is thinking about making music for other releases on his Young Animal imprint:

“I was really inspired. I had tried the comics/music thing before The Killjoys. That didn’t quite work in terms of how I feel how artistically connected and successful they were, and a lot of that was because the music part with MCR overshadowed the book. This feels more natural; I just do it when I’m inspired. I like doing things that are accurate to the world of the comics. That’s really fun. And we talk about doing a whole Young Animal record, so we’re working on that right now.”

Lastly, he also talked about putting together another solo album:

“I’m just about to seriously figure out my schedule in terms of how many weeks. I’m writing comics and how many weeks I’m writing music. There’s a plan to put something out; I don’t know when that’ll come, but the process is starting.”

Asking Alexandria, Escape The Fate, New Years Day, Etc. Cover My Chemical Romance For “The Black Parade” Tribute Album

Rock Sound have organized a tribute album to commemorate the 10th anniversary of My Chemical Romance‘s “The Black Parade.” The release, which is called “Rock Sound Presents: The Black Parade,“ will be available in the next issue of the magazine, which is set to be released on September 14. Preorders can be found HERE.


“Rock Sound Presents: The Black Parade” Track Listing:

01. “The End.” (ONE OK ROCK)
02. “Dead!” (Escape The Fate)
03. “This Is How I Disappear” (Creeper)
04. “The Sharpest Lives” (State Champs)
05. “Welcome To The Black Parade” (Crown The Empire)
06. “I Don’t Love You” (Moose Blood)
07. “House Of Wolves” (Palisades)
08. “Cancer” (Twenty One Pilots)
09. “Mama” (Ghost Town)
10. “Sleep” (New Years Day)
11. “Teenagers” (Against The Current)
12. “Disenchanted” (Chunk! No, Captain Chunk!)
13. “Famous Last Words” (Asking Alexandria)

My Chemical Romance Reveal Details for 10th Anniversary Edition Of “The Black Parade”

My Chemical Romance have revealed the details for their 10th anniversary edition of “The Black Parade,” which is set to be released on September 23. This release will be called “The Black Parade / Living With Ghosts,” and it will come with the original album, along with a bonus content including rarities, unreleased demos etc. Fans will be able to purchase the effort as a CD set, or a three LP vinyl set. Both of these will come with an exclusive My Chemical Romance flag, and preorders can be found HERE. If you preorder, you will also get an instant download of “The Five of Us Are Dying” (rough mix), which was the demo that went on to become “The Black Parade.”


Bonus Disc Track Listing:

01. “The Five of Us Are Dying (rough mix)
02. “Kill All Your Friends (live demo)
03. “Party At The End Of The World (live demo)
04. “Mama (live demo)
05. “My Way Home Is Through You (live demo)
06. “Not That Kind Of Girl (live demo)
07. “House of Wolves, Version 1 (live demo)
08. “House of Wolves, Version 2 (live demo)
09. “Emily (rough mix)
10. “Disenchanted (live demo)
11. “All The Angels (live demo)