Metallica Pay Tribute To Ray Burton: “His Light, Wisdom And Energy Will Always Be With Us All Wherever We Go”

As previously reported, Ray Burton, the father of late Metallica bassist Cliff Burton, has sadly passed away at the age of 94. The band have since paid tribute to Ray via their official website.

Metallica shared the following joint statement:

“It is with incredible sorrow that we said farewell to Cliff’s dad Ray Burton last week. For 38 years, we were lucky enough to have the energy, wisdom and light of Ray in our lives. His eternal youth with his drive, positivity and relentless smile were both incredibly powerful and stirringly honest.

From coast to coast and overseas too, Ray’s beaming face would regularly greet us, offering warmth and anchor to our travels, and when it came to the entire Metallica family, band, crew and fans, he viewed us all as his own. That he has passed away leaves an indefinable feeling of sadness and loss, but equally, we know Ray wouldn’t want us ‘moping around on our darn keisters’ for too long.

So, in honor of him, and the kind of man he was, we also want to truly celebrate the 94 years of life Ray gave everyone, knowing in certainty that a glint of his light, wisdom and energy will always be with us all wherever we go.

We love you Ray,
Rest in peace”

Each member of the band have also shared individual tributes:

James Hetfield:

“Mr. Ray Burton is a hero of mine
In earthly form, his end of the line
He weathered many a difficult storm
A strong compass
true and gracefully worn
To his last breath, I’ve not met a more positive man
And to his son there was not a more loyal fan
So he leaves the material world to be with his sons and wife
I feel so very blessed to have had him grace my life
In earthly form, his end of the line
Mr. Ray Burton is a hero of mine

May peace be yours.

Love and Respect,

Lars Ulrich:


Thank you for lighting up every room you walked into, for inspiring all of us with your positive energy, your perseverance, your effortlessness and for always making everyone feel comfortable in your presence… and of course, thank you for giving the world the gift of Cliff and his unique talents. I’m honored and humbled to have played and stood beside him.

Rest In Peace.


Robert Trujillo:

“In my 55 years of existing on this earth I’ve met so many wonderful people, and not so wonderful people.

In recent times, and most definitely since I’ve been in Metallica, I’ve been asked who is an inspiration to me and/or who do I aspire to be like, and my reply is, ‘I want to be like Mr. Ray Burton!’ Ray is the father we all want, or need to have; his positive energy, and support for how and what we do is a powerful gift that he blessed us with.

Always smiling, and always telling it like it is; someone to learn from. Ray’s love for all styles of music was passion driven, telling me about various big band jazz artists from his youth, sharing his thoughts on how and why these musicians were so special. I’ll always remember him telling my son, ‘You practicing, you playing piano Tye, remember that’s very important for your music; Cliff played piano all the time.’

My family, the Metallica family, and the world will miss Ray Burton, that goes without saying. Ray was a warrior, and would want us to face life the way he has, with that desire to be the best you can be from the inside out, stay humble, and keep smiling!

We love you, and we will miss you Ray.



Kirk Hammett:

“Lots of love Ray.

May you finally be with Cliff and Jan.


Ray Burton, Father Of Late Metallica Bassist Cliff Burton, Passes Away

Ray Burton, the father of late Metallica bassist Cliff Burton, has sadly passed away at the age of 94. His daughter Connie confirmed the sad news on Facebook:

“To let you all know that my Dad died last Wednesday. Rest in peace 🙏❣️💔 Dad.”

Metallica’s James Hetfield To Appear At Opening Reception For “Reclaimed Rust” At Petersen Automotive Museum

Metallica’s James Hetfield previously donated 10 custom classic cars to the Petersen Automotive Museum and now it has been revealed that he will be making an appearance at the opening reception in Los Angeles on January 30. The frontman will be taking part in a discussion and will also auction off two ESP guitars. Hetfield’s collection, which is being called “Reclaimed Rust: The James Hetfield Collection,” will feature: the Voodoo Priest, based on a ’37 Lincoln Zephyr, a ’36 Auburn roadster named Slow Burn, a Delahaye inspired ’34 Packard, Aquarius, a ’36 Ford in bare metal called Iron Fist, a purple ’56 Ford F-100 pickup truck, and three cars by custom fabricator Rick Dore: the Black Pearl, a custom 1948 Jaguar, a ’52 Olds named Grinch, and the Skyscraper, a 1953 Buick Skylark. More info on the reception can be found HERE.

[via Loudwire]

Metallica Pledge More Than $500,000 To Australia Wildfire Relief Efforts

Metallica have pledged $750,000 AUD (approximately $516,000) to help out with Australia wildfire relief efforts. The money will go towards the NSW Rural Fire Service and the Victoria Country Fire Authority.

The band commented:

“We are totally overwhelmed by the news of the wildfires sweeping through millions of acres across Australia, with major impact in New South Wales and Victoria. The resulting destruction and devastating effects on all residents, animals, the environment and the incredible land in Australia is truly heartbreaking.

Please join us and do whatever you can to assist as we, along with our All Within My Hands Foundation, are pledging A$750,000 to the NSW Rural Fire Service and to the CFA (Country Fire Authority) in Victoria to aid in the relief efforts.

NSW Rural Fire Service is the world’s largest volunteer firefighting organization and all funds donated during this State of Emergency are directed toward services related to and victims of these particularly destructive Australian bushfires.

CFA (Country Fire Authority) is a volunteer and community-based fire and emergency services organization which helps to protect 3.3 million Victorians, and works together with communities to keep Victorians safe from fire and other emergencies.

Learn more about NSW Rural Fire Service and how you can help ➡️

Learn more about CFA (Country Fire Authority) and how you can help ➡️

Metallica Had One Billion Spotify Streams In 2019

Metallica have taken to social media to share their Spotify statistics for 2019. Impressively, the band hit 1 billion streams on the service this year.

Metallica Post Live Footage Of “Lords Of Summer” From Brussels, Belgium Show

Metallica have shared some live footage of themselves performing “Lords Of Summer” during their June 16 show at Koning Boudewijnstadium in Brussels, Belgium. You can check that out below: