Dream Theater Tease New Album

It looks like Dream Theater are planning to reveal the details for their new album on July 28. According to Blabbermouth, the band’s fan club have been sharing various teasers leading up to reveal. You can find acronyms for all of the album tracks and their runtimes below:

* TA (09:32)
* ATC (07:35)
* IM (06:02)
* SG (10:05)
* TT (06:25)
* ATM (09:47)
* AVFTTOTW (20:24)

Dream Theater Stream “Pull Me Under” From “Images And Words – Live In Japan, 2017”

Dream Theater are streaming “Pull Me Under” from their “Images And Words – Live In Japan, 2017” release. That effort will be available on June 25 and the band had the following to say about it:

“The first release in the ‘Lost Not Forgotten Archives’ series, ‘Images and Words – Live in Japan, 2017’, is available for pre-order today, May 14th, and releasing June 25th. This initial entry into our reimagined collectors series is a live recording of our 2017 performance featuring the classic album, ‘Images and Words’, performed in full at Japan’s legendary Budokan arena. Released on CD as well as vinyl and digital for the first time, you can purchase and stream through your favorite music service. The exclusive autographed, ultra-clear vinyl version is limited to just 250 copies, and available only through https://lostnotforgottenarchives.dreamtheater.net/

Dream Theater Announce “Lost Not Forgotten Archives”

Dream Theater will be reissuing their Ytsejam Records catalog as part of a “Lost Not Forgotten Archives” series. The band said the following about that:

“Dream Theater, in conjunction with Inside Out Music are pleased to officially announce the ‘Lost Not Forgotten Archives’, which will see the long-standing Ytsejam Records catalog reissued and remastered alongside some brand new additions to this special collectors series. Released on CD as well as vinyl and digital for the first time, with brand new artwork, they will also be available in limited, autographed special editions direct from the band. Dream Theater are proud to present this exciting new series, starting with the first release, ‘Images and Words – Live in Japan, 2017’. Available for pre-order May 14th, releasing June 25th. https://lostnotforgottenarchives.dreamtheater.net

Dream Theater Finish Recording New Album

Dream Theater have officially finished the recording process for their new album. Guitarist John Petrucci confirmed the news during a recent interview with Thomann:

“We just wrapped recording of that. We had been working on that since October. And I am super excited about it. It’s not gonna come out till later this year. We don’t have any release-date information yet, obviously, as we do, we’ll let everybody know. But I am just really, really excited. The pandemic has been hard on a lot of people in the world, and as far as the way it’s affected musicians, everybody wants to play — everybody’s pent up; there’s no live performances. So I feel like, with all these records that we’re doing in the studio, the Dream Theater guys came to play. So the record [is] filled with energy and excitement and positivity. I’m excited about it. I can’t wait for people to hear that.”

[via Blabbermouth]

Dream Theater Continue Work On New Album

Dream Theater have continued work on their new album. The band shared a new photo from the sessions, which you can see below. This news comes after Mike Mangini confirmed that he finished tracking drums for the effort last month.

Mike Mangini Finishes Tracking Drums For New Dream Theater Album

Mike Mangini has finished tracking drums for the new Dream Theater album. According to him, the effort will be “energetically unrelenting.”

Mangini said the following:

“My drums for DT15 are complete. This is a long post, but for those of you just like me who need positive inspiration more than ever, this is for you:

I’ve not played on an album this energetically unrelenting start to finish since Annihilator. But the wild thing is the amount of vintage DT melody weaved on to that kind of energy. I’ve never tapped into more advanced uses of my old and new chops in musical ways because of a monumentally collaborative effort of 5 like-minded, organic/evolving individuals. Is it from the forced lockdown like other music I’ve heard released? Maybe. Is it from nobody individually or collectively trying to do anything specific musically except just play and be a daring 19-year-old again? Probably. I never say that any new album is better than another. It never seems to be to me after reading, “this is our best blah blah blah.” What I’m communicating is exactly what it is about DT15 that sticks out as being significant and important to me. Better? That’s pointless given so many different tastes. Who cares.

However, it’s really cool that the band and individuals can keep progressing at this career stage. But we’re supposed to given how we’re defined. Accordingly, there’s all the “familiarity” one needs in this new music, but it’s definitely not the same old fills/chords/beats. Besides, what could be more boring than a defined “progressive” musician not being creative, dynamic, and growing physically and creatively from album to album? That would be kinda like a poker machine spitting out the same hands game after game, year after year.

Earning good mechanics is a great thing as it pertains to consistency and avoiding playing poorly. But A TRUE machine is a thing that doesn’t grow. That’s OK unless your thing, your claim, is to be a “progressive” musician. We strive to “complete” who we are even though nobody can fully “complete” everything. No creative growth truly defines and = a “BOT” so to speak. DT15 is no such thing and I’m excited to report back with so much joy. BTW: I took used items from the session for my store.”

Dream Theater Share “The Spirit Carries On” Live Video From “Distant Memories – Live In London”

Dream Theater have shared a new live video for their song “The Spirit Carries On.” The footage is taken from the band’s new live album/film “Distant Memories – Live In London,“ which was released last month. That effort was recorded during a February show at the Eventim Apollo in London, England.

Dream Theater Release Holiday Medley “The Holiday Spirit Carries On”

Dream Theater are celebrating the holidays with a new medley titled “The Holiday Spirit Carries On.” Fans can purchase the track via Bandcamp. The group commented:

“With touring cancelled around the world, the incredible members of Dream Theater’s crew have not had the opportunity to work as they normally would in 2020. Please help us support them by purchasing this exclusive Holiday track. All proceeds will go toward these dedicated people who work tirelessly to make Dream Theater concerts possible.”

Dream Theater Share “Fatal Tragedy” Video From “Distant Memories – Live In London” Blu-ray

Dream Theater have shared a new live video for their song “Fatal Tragedy.” The footage is taken from the band’s new live album/film “Distant Memories – Live In London,“ which will be released on November 27. That effort was recorded during a February show at the Eventim Apollo in London, England.