Derek Sherinian Recruits Michael Schenker, Zakk Wylde, Nuno Bettencourt, Etc. For New Album “Vortex”

Derek Sherinian (Black Country Communion, Sons of Apollo) will be releasing a new solo album, titled “Vortex,” on July 1. The keyboardist recorded the effort with drummer Simon Phillips, bassist Tony “The Fretless Monster” Franklin, and numerous guest guitarists including: Michael Schenker, Zakk Wylde, Nuno Bettencourt, etc.

“Vortex” Track Listing:

01. “The Vortex” (feat. Steve Stevens)
02. “Fire Horse” (feat. Nuno Bettencourt)
03. “Scorpion”
04. “Seven Seas” (feat. Steve Stevens)
05. “Key Lime Blues” (feat. Joe Bonamassa, Steve Lukather)
06. “Die Kobra” (feat. Michael Schenker, Zakk Wylde)
07. “Nomad’s Land” (feat. Mike Stern)
08. “Aurora Australis” (feat. Bumblefoot)

Sherinian commented:

“I am very happy to announce the release my new album ‘Vortex’. Simon and I always try and out do ourselves with every release, and I am confident we achieved our goal.

He also added the following about the guest guitarists:

“The choice of guitarist works itself out in the writing. Also, like in the case of Steve Stevens, we co-wrote the song together, so it was natural for him to play on it.”

“I have always been a fan of [Bettencourt’s] playing, and I am glad that we finally got to record together. He has the Van Halen swing and swagger to his playing that I love. We were both born in 1966, the Chinese year of the Fire Horse.”

“Michael Schenker has been one of my heroes for many years. He asked me to play on his ‘Immortal’ album, and in return, he agreed to play on ‘Die Kobra’. I wanted to write a great song inspired by my favorite Schenker tracks. Zakk Wylde added some great additional parts to the song, and Tony Franklin and Simon Phillips sound great, as usual.”