Ov Sulfur To Release New Album “The Burden Ov Faith” In March, Premiere “Earthen” Video

Ov Sulfur, the project featuring former Suffokate vocalist Ricky Hoover, have officially revealed the details for their new album “The Burden Ov Faith.” The effort will be released on March 24 and it will feature a number of special guests including: Howard Jones (Light The Torch, ex-Killswitch Engage), Alex Terrible (Slaugther To Prevail), Taylor Barber (Left To Suffer), Kyle Medina (Bodysnatcher), and Lindsay Schoolcraft (ex-Cradle Of Filth).

“The Burden Ov Faith” Track Listing:

01. “Stained In Rot”
02. “Befouler” (feat. Alex Terrible)
03. “Unraveling” (feat. Taylor Barber)
04. “Death Ov Circumstance”
05. “Earthen”
06. “A Path To Salvation?”
07. “I, Apostate”
08. “Wide Open” (feat. Howard Jones)
09. “The Inglorious Archetype”
10. “The Burden Ov Faith” (feat. Kyle Medina and Lindsay Schoolcraft)

Hoover said the following about the album:

“I wanted to put something out there that was as blasphemous and heavy as it was thought-provoking; I just had no idea how many people felt the same way.”

A video for the effort’s latest single, “Earthen,” can be found below. Hoover added the following about that:

“‘Earthen‘ is about my nephew who died from cancer at 16. After failed bone-marrow transplants, he decided to stop and let it take its course. It’s about witnessing that and being there, holding him when he died. That song is very emotional for me… I was actually crying in the studio tracking vocals. We needed the video to capture the sheer tragedy of that situation to really underscore how unfair and unjust it is for any ‘god’ to put a child through something as awful as cancer.”

Guitarist Chase Wilson also commented:

“The guitar lead from this song is the first thing I wrote that ended up on the album, well over a year ago. The song came together quickly after that and has stayed very similar since. As such, it’ll appeal to fans of the ‘Oblivion‘ EP, as well as the newer stuff we’ve been putting out, with the most obvious growth being Ricky‘s emotional singing and Leviathvn‘s super tasteful drumming. We’re all really proud of this one.”


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s