Hammerhedd Premiere “Pioneer To Be” Video

Hammerhedd have premiered a new video for their new song “Pioneer To Be.” This track is from the band’s new album “Nonetheless,” which will be released on February 24.

The band said the following:

“‘Pioneer To Be‘ is the first song we wrote during the Nonetheless sessions, and is fittingly the first song on the album. We feel it sets the tone for the album; it’s groovy, chunky, and punishingly heavy.”

Each member shared their individual thoughts on the track as well:

Vocalist/guitarist Henry Ismert:

“The Melvins. The guitar tone on ‘Bullhead‘, specifically the song Boris, was a huge inspiration for the guitar tone on Pioneer’s first riff. It’s got that ‘Buzz’ feel to it.”

Bassist Abe Ismert:

“John Mayer Trio, specifically their live album ‘Try’. Pino Palladio and Steve Jordan lay it DOWN. Their cover of ‘I Got A Woman’ specifically influenced our drum sound on ‘Pioneer To Be‘… that high, tight piccolo-sounding snare just cracks straight through the mix!”

Drummer Eli Ismert:

“Frederick Thordenal’s Special Defects ‘Sol Niger Within‘. This album blew our minds when we heard it. While the songwriting on ‘Pioneer To Be‘ isn’t directly influenced by Sol, the scary, ethereal synth sounds we used on this track definitely are. It almost sounds like the beginning of the apocalypse or something.”

“Nonetheless” Track Listing:

01. “Pioneer To Be”
02. “Tunnel”
03. “The Richest Man In Town”
04. “Descent”
05. “Snakes At Bay”
06. “Nonetheless”
07. “Fruition”
08. “Down The Hall And To Your Left”
09. “Synthesis Pt. 1”
10. “Synthesis Pt. 2”
11. “Lost”


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s