Failure Premiere New Song “Headstand”, Reveal Details For New Album “Wild Type Droid”

Failure have premiered a new song titled “Headstand.” This track is from the band’s new album “Wild Type Droid,” which will be released on December 3.

Ken Andrews said the following about the new song:

“The lyrics come from my earliest memory of spacing-out in my room when I was seven, trying to conceive of infinity and watching the dust falling through the bars of sunlight pouring through my blinds. I had heard that a lot of that dust was made up of skin cells and that really stuck with me. It’s kind of a love song to those bizarre innocent moments of solitude.”

He also added the following about the album:

“To me, it captures a lot of the new musical approaches and techniques we were going for on this album, but somehow is still quintessential Failure. We’ve been together long enough to know that some of our best ideas come directly from these experimental sessions.

For this album, we simply cultivated that methodology for a much longer time than we have in the past. It brought out the trio aspect of the band. There was a feeling we could really push the individual parts further away from each other and let the more interesting and challenging combinations take center stage.”

Greg Edwards also discussed the cover art, which was created by digital artist Beeple:

“This feels like a good place and time to abandon the space iconography and theme once and for all. In a lot of ways, this album feels like a return to earth. All minds have been called back to their bodies. There’s a lot to attend to right in front of us.”

“Wild Type Droid” Track Listing:

01. “Water With Hands”
02. “Headstand”
03. “Lifetime Of Joy”
04. “Submarines”
05. “Bring Back The Sound”
06. “Mercury Mouth”
07. “Undecided”
08. “Long Division”
09. “Bad Translation”
10. “Half Moon”

Comments are closed.