Mike Patton And Jean-Claude Vannier Team Up For New Album “Corpse Flower”

Mike Patton (Faith No More, Dead Cross, etc.) has joined forces with French composer Jean-Claude Vannier for a new album called “Corpse Flower.“ The effort will be released on September 13 and the first single “On Top Of The World” can be streamed below:

The record was recorded in Los Angeles, CA and Paris, France with a number of different musicians including: Smokey Hormel (Beck, Johnny Cash), Justin Meldal-Johnsen (Beck, Air, Nine Inch Nails), James Gadson (Beck, Jamie Lidell), Denys Lable, Bernard Paganotti (Magma), Daniel Ciampolini, Didier Malherbe, Léonard Le Cloarec, and The Bécon Palace String Ensemble. Patton said the following about the project:

“Jean-Claude and I met while working together on a [Serge] Gainsbourg retrospective at the Hollywood Bowl in 2011. We bonded immediately. I could see he had a dedication and attention to detail that was relentless so the respect I had for him in my mind was magnified in person. We spoke loosely about working together in the future… and it took some time, but after a few years I contacted him and we began to ignite some sparks.”

Vannier added:

“I would send Mike rough versions of the songs to get his thoughts, then I’d wait impatiently, staring at the clock, until I received his response. He made my music awaken with his unique perspective and interpretations of my songs. A formidable vocalist, with a sense of humor, Mike and I created a strong, beautiful and sincere collection of music, as well as a friendship.”

“Corpse Flower” Track Listing:

01. “Ballad C.3.3.”
02. “Camion”
03. “Chansons D’Amour”
04. “Cold Sun Warm Beer”
05. “Browning”
06. “Ghost”
07. “Corpse Flower”
08. “Insolubles”
09. “On Top Of The World”
10. “A Schoolgirl’s Day”
11. “Pink And Bleue”
12. “Yard Bull”


Comments are closed.