High On Fire Reveal Details For New Album “Electric Messiah”

High On Fire have announced that their new album “Electric Messiah” will be released on October 5. You can find the cover art and track listing for that below. You can also stream the title track over at NPR.

“Electric Messiah” Track Listing:

01. “Spewn From The Earth”
02. “Steps Of The Ziggurat/House Of Enlil”
03. “Electric Messiah”
04. “Sanctioned Annihilation”
05. “The Pallid Mask”
06. “God Of The Godless”
07. “Freebooter”
08. “The Witch And The Christ”
09. “Drowning Dog“

Matt Pike said the following about the effort’s title, which was influenced by the late Lemmy Kilmister (Motörhead):

“I had a dream about Lemmy. When Lemmy was still alive I always got compared to Lemmy, so I had this dream where he got pissed at me.

He gave me a bunch of shit, basically, and was hazing me. Not that he didn’t approve of me, but like I was being hazed. The song is me telling the world that I could never fill Lemmy’s shoes because Lemmy’s Lemmy. I wanted to pay homage to him in a great way. And it turned out to be such a good title that the guys said we should call the album ‘Electric Messiah.’”

He also added the following about the album:

“This band keeps evolving. This is by far the best record I’ve ever made with the High On Fire stamp. It just keeps getting better and better. We just try to outdo ourselves. I’m not saying the old work is progressively worse, it’s just that we get better every time instead of burning out, which is a common finality for a lot of bands. This album is fucking excellent, I just love everything on it, I’m not bummed about anything. It’s great when you think that about your record.”


One response to “High On Fire Reveal Details For New Album “Electric Messiah”

  1. Pingback: High On Fire Premiere “Electric Messiah” Lyric Video | Metal Anarchy