Earthless To Release New Album “Night Parade Of One Hundred Demons” In January

Earthless will be releaing their new album, “Night Parade Of One Hundred Demons,” on January 28. The effort will feature two songs including the 41-minute title track and a 20-minute song called “Death To The Red Sun.“ You can find a teaser for “Death To The Red Sun” below:

More information on the record was shared in a press release:

“The album and its title were inspired by an ancient Japanese legend in which a horde of demons, ghosts and other terrifying ghouls descend upon sleeping villages at night, once a year. Known as Hyakki Yagyo, or the “Night Parade of One Hundred Demons,” one version of the tale states that anyone who witnesses this otherworldly procession will die instantly—or be carried off by the creatures of the night. As a result, the villagers hide in their homes, lest they become victims of these supernatural invaders.”

Bassist Mike Eginton continued:

“My son and I came across the ‘Night Parade of One Hundred Demons’ in a book of traditional Japanese ghost stories. I like the idea of people hiding and being able to hear the madness but not see it. It’s the fear of the unknown.”

Drummer Mario Rubalcaba added:

“It definitely has a darker, almost evil kind of vibe compared to stuff we’ve done in the past. There’s more paranoia and noise, and some of Isaiah’s whammy-bar stuff kind of reminds me of these Jeff Hanneman moments in ‘Reign In Blood‘, where it just seems like everything is going to hell. It’s pretty fun.”

In other news, the band also have the following dates booked:

01/27 Los Angeles, CA – Echo
01/28 San Diego, CA – Casbah
01/29 Pioneertown, CA – Pappy & Harriet’s
01/30 Berkeley, CA – Cornerstone
02/01 Portland, OR – Mississippi Studios
02/02 Seattle, WA – Chop Suey
02/04 Salt Lake City, UT – Metro Music Hall
02/05 Denver, CO – HQ
02/06 Albuquerque, NM – Launchpad
02/08 Phoenix, AZ – Rebel Lounge