Megadeth’s Dave Mustaine Offers Update On His Cancer Battle: “My Doctors Are Feeling Very Positive Regarding My Progress”

Megadeth’s Dave Mustaine has offered an update on his ongoing battle with throat cancer. The frontman says he is “almost through the last round of treatment” and that his “doctors are feeling very positive regarding [his] progress.”

Here’s Mustaine’s full statement:

“I wanted to take a moment to give you all an update on the current status of my health. I’m almost through the last round of treatment and my doctors are feeling very positive regarding my progress. I want to thank all of you for the support and well wishes these last few months. I can’t express enough gratitude as it has made this hard road easier knowing you are in my corner fighting with me!

Over the next few weeks my condition will be evaluated, and I will keep you posted on my progress as we get closer to the sailing date of the first Megacruise! We can’t wait to see you, and I know all of the other wonderful artists feel the same way. Let’s make this event one for the record books. Less than 30 days till we are Thrashing through the Pacific!

See you all very soon.



Watch David Ellefson & Chris Poland Reunite Onstage To Perform Megadeth’s “The Conjuring” & “Peace Sells”

Megadeth’s David Ellefson recently reunited with his former bandmate Chris Poland during a September 5 show at the Slidebar in Fullerton, CA. You can see footage of them performing Megadeth’s “The Conjuring” and “Peace Sells” with John Bush (Armored Saint, etc.) on vocals below:

[via Blabbermouth]

Five Finger Death Punch, Megadeth, & Bad Wolves Officially Announce European/UK Tour

Five Finger Death Punch have officially announced the dates for their 2020 European/UK tour. As previously reported, the band will be joined by special guests Megadeth and Bad Wolves.

Tour Dates:

01/14 Kiev, UKR – Palace Of Sports (Five Finger Death Punch only)
01/16 Moscow, RUS – Adrenaline Stadium (Five Finger Death Punch only)
01/18 St. Petersburg, RUS – A2 (Five Finger Death Punch only)
01/20 Helsinki, FIN – Hartwell Arena
01/22 Stockholm, SWE – Hovet
01/23 Oslo, NOR – Spektrum
01/24 Copenhagen, DEN – Royal Arena
01/26 Amsterdam, NET – AFAS Live
01/28 Paris, FRA – Zenith
01/30 Cardiff, UK – Cardiff Arena
01/31 London, UK – Wembley Arena
02/03 Berlin, GER – Max-Schmeling Halle
02/04 Hamburg, GER – Sporthalle
02/06 Frankfurt, GER – Festhalle
02/08 Oberhausen, GER – Koenig-Pilsener Arena
02/09 Stuttgart, GER – Schleyerhalle
02/10 Munich, GER – Olympiahalle
02/12 Warsaw, POL – Torwar
02/14 Prague, CZE – Tipsport Arena
02/16 Milan, ITA – Alcatrazz
02/17 Zurich, SWI – Hallenstadion
02/19 Vienna, AUT – Stadthalle
02/20 Budapest, HUN – Budapest Sportarena

Zoltan Bathory commented:

“The line-up is massive. Bad Wolves were THE break out band of recent years and are certainly bringing the heat. Megadeth needs no introduction, they are absolute legends. Dave Mustaine’s contribution to this genre is simply immeasurable. I consider him one of the founding fathers of not just Thrash but Heavy Metal in general, because his riffs and guitar playing have influenced everyone that was in Megadeth’s blast radius… and that’s a big radius.”

Five Finger Death Punch, Megadeth, & Bad Wolves Planning European Tour

Five Finger Death Punch, Megadeth, and Bad Wolves are planning a European tour together. The bands have been revealing cities for the trek at So far, Helsinki, Finland and Stockholm, Sweden have both been confirmed.

Megadeth Announce New Beer “Saison 13”

Megadeth have teamed up with Unibroue once again to create a new beer called “Saison 13.” The 6.1% ABV drink is currently available in select Canadian provinces and it is expected to launch in the U.S. next month.

Megadeth Team Up With Richard Childress Racing & Gimmie Radio For NASCAR Car

Megadeth have teamed up with Richard Childress Racing and Gimmie Radio for a new NASCAR car that features the band’s logo and mascot Vic Rattlehead. The vehicle is being driven by Tyler Reddick and a 1:24 diecast replica of it can be pre-ordered HERE.

Megadeth’s Dave Mustaine Cancels San Diego Comic-Con Appearance

Megadeth’s Dave Mustaine, who is currently battling throat cancer, has been forced to cancel his appearance at San Diego Comic-Con International. The frontman was previously scheduled to sign copies of the band’s graphic novel “Death By Design” at the Heavy Metal magazine booth (#1529) on July 21.

Megadeth commented:

“San Diego Comic-Con International fans, we have some good news/bad news. By doctor’s orders, we need to cancel Dave Mustaine’s appearance at Heavy Metal Magazine’s booth. But Megadeth always covers its fans! An exclusive 12”x12” print will be given to buyers of the deluxe edition of MEGADETH: DEATH BY DESIGN signed by Dave Mustaine, Kiko Loureiro, David Ellefson and Dirk Verbeuren!

The signing, at Heavy Metal’s San Diego Comic Con booth #1529, will include over a dozen writers and artists from MEGADETH: DEATH BY DESIGN.

Let’s all send good wishes to Dave during his treatment and for a speedy recovery!”