Covet To Release New Album “Catharsis” In April, Premiere “Firebird” Video

Covet have officially revealed the details for their new album “Catharsis.” The effort will be released on April 7 and it can be pre-ordered HERE.

“Catharsis” Track Listing:

01. “Coronal”
02. “Firebird”
03. “Bronco”
04. “Vanquish”
05. “Interlude”
06. “Smolder”
07. “Merlin”
08. “Lovespell”

Yvette Young commented:

“We did a lot of risk-taking on this album. I try to follow what excites me without heeding anybody’s expectations. I’m leaning into melodies, tones, and textures and trying to use them to transport listeners. The whole concept is escaping into a fantasy realm where the songs depict different characters and their own worlds.

Each song is like their theme song. It’s mostly instrumental, but when you close your eyes, I hope people will be transported into the character’s story. Music has always been escapism for me and a great source of therapy. My hope for this music is that it will take people somewhere and stir their imaginations, or at the very least, make them feel something.

I named this record ‘Catharsis’ because the word to me feels like a triumphant exodus. No matter the dire circumstances, music is one of those things that I’ve always needed to create to survive (in all senses of the word), and time and time again, I turn to guitar and songwriting as my outlet to uplift and feel like I have control over something in this chaotic universe.”

A video for the effort’s first single, “Firebird,” can be found below. Young added the following about that track:

“When my mom first emigrated to America, she balled out and got a red Pontiac Firebird. I hope it sounds like cruising down the highway with the wind blowing in your hair. I really wanted to lean into the catchiness of a melody and see how I could push some rock-n-roll tropes until something almost becomes cheesy—but not quite yet. Hopefully, the lighthearted and silly nature of the video reflects that.”

Comments are closed.