King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard To Release Three New Albums In October

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard will be releasing three new albums next month. Among them are: “Ice, Death, Planets, Lungs, Mushrooms And Lava” (out October 7), “Laminated Denim” (out October 12), and “Changes” (out October 28).

“Ice, Death, Planets, Lungs, Mushrooms And Lava“ Track Listing:

01. “Mycelium”
02. “Ice V”
03. “Magma”
04. “Lava”
05. “Hell’s Itch”
06. “Iron Lung”
07. “Gliese 710”

“Laminated Denim“ Track Listing:

01. “The Land Before Timeland”
02. “Hypertension”

“Changes“ Track Listing:

01. “Change”
02. “Hate Dancin’”
03. “Astroturf”
04. “No Body”
05. “Gondii”
06. “Exploding Suns”
07. “Short Change”

Stu Mackenzie said the following about “Ice, Death, Planets, Lungs, Mushrooms And Lava”:

“Naturally, each day’s jams had a different flavor, because each day was in a different scale and a different BPM. We’d walk into the studio, set everything up, get a rough tempo going and just jam. No preconceived ideas at all, no concepts, no songs. We’d jam for maybe 45 minutes, and then all swap instruments and start again.”

He also briefly commented on “Laminated Denim”:

“Laminated Denim is an anagram of Made In Timeland.”

Mackenzie then added the following about “Changes”:

“I think of Changes as a song-cycle. Every song is built around this one chord progression – every track is like a variation on a theme. But I don’t know if we had the musical vocabulary yet to complete the idea at that time. We recorded some of it then, including the version of “Exploding Suns” that’s on the finished album. But when the sessions were over, it just never felt done. It was like this idea that was in our heads, but we just couldn’t reach. We just didn’t know yet how to do what we wanted to do.”

You can find a video for “Ice V” from “Ice, Death, Planets, Lungs, Mushrooms And Lava” below:

Comments are closed.