Anthrax To Release New Live Album/Film Featuring Their 40th Anniversary Livestream Concert

Anthrax will be releasing a new live album/film titled “Anthrax XL” on July 15. The effort will feature the band’s 40th anniversary livestream concert, which was held at The Den in Los Angeles, CA on July 16, 2021.

The group shared more information on the set:

“The entire performance, plus never-before-seen rehearsal footage and Scott Ian’s New York City “walking tour,” pointing out the spots that played a role in Anthrax’s formation and history, will be released in North America on July 15 on Blu-Ray and Digital (Megaforce). “Anthrax XL” will also have a European Digital release on July 15 (Nuclear Blast), followed by a Blu-Ray release later this year.”

Drummer Charlie Benante also commented:

“Forty years doesn’t feel like 40 years. Sometimes I have to remind myself about how long this strange trip has been. I enjoy playing these songs, they’re such a huge part of my life, and I know for a lot of our fans, they play a big part in theirs as well.”

Bassist Frank Bello continued:

“For me, each song was like reading through a scrapbook of my life and the band’s career. Specifically, ‘Madhouse,’ one of my first recordings with the band, and then to where we are now with ‘Blood Eagle Wings.’ What a great ride it’s been, I’m very grateful.”

Vocalist Joey Belladonna added:

“Even though we were performing in a studio with just the crew there, we played that set like we were in front of 50,000 screaming fans. I felt like we made a full-on connection with everyone watching from their homes or wherever, and that they connected with us. It was quite an intense experience.”

“Anthrax XL” Track Listing:

01. “Time“/”Fight Em ’Til You Can’t”
02. “Madhouse”
03. “Caught In A Mosh”
04. “Metal Thrashing Mad”
05. “Got The Time” (Joe Jackson cover)
06. “I Am The Law”
07. “Keep It In The Family”
08. “Lone Justice”
09. “The Devil You Know”
10. “Be All End All”
11. “Now It’s Dark”
12. “Antisocial” (Trust cover)
13. “In The End”
14. “Medusa”
15. “Evil Twin”
16. “Indians”
17. “Skeletons In The Closet”
18. “Blood Eagle Wings”
19. “Bring The Noise” (Public Enemy cover) (feat. Chuck D)
20. “A.I.R.”
21. “Among The Living”

You can find a video for “Aftershock” from the set below:

Comments are closed.