Downset. Premiere “The Place To Be” Music Video

Downset. have premiered a new video for their new song “The Place To Be.” This track is from the band’s new album “Maintain,” which will be released on June 10.

Rogelio Lozano said the following about the song:

“This was one of the first tracks written with the new members Bobby Ponte and Philip Gonzales. With Nick Jett (Terror) engineering and co-producing, our first objective was to try and revisit the original Downset sound of the first ever recorded demos. To try and recreate the tone, we first unwound our guitars and basses back to drop ‘C,’ and then created heavy rhythmic beats and riffs to facilitate a platform for Rey Oropeza’s hard rap flows.

The lyrics to this song combine several subjects into one song and at the end all tying in together. Represent yourself with class, responsibility and courage. Setting a good example for our youth is my interpretation of the message.”

He also commented on the album:

“During pre-production, ‘Maintain’ was the first song that we plucked out of the air. Going through hard times you’ve got to hang in there, hang on, maintain and hold it down. During the first wave of the pandemic, we had a lot of fear. Everyone was getting sick, people were dying like our manager Scott Koenig (RIP). It was amazing that we were able to pull all the work off that we did for this album through lockdown.”

“I was lucky to have full responsibility for this album. It was kind of like a graduation; I was finally able to produce my own album in a big studio. I was really happy and confident and with the help of Nick Jett from Terror we had the perfect combination for Downset and for the sound of this album. Jett made it really easy for us to go through pre-production and the writing process.”

Rey Oropeza added:

“From the beginning I’ve had concerns about the problematic nature of society. I reflect on the experiences of my life. There are concepts that should be challenged and thought about. Everyone is going to come to their own conclusions on how they feel about inequality, misogyny, political topics, etc. but all of these things have kept me critically focused on my activism over the years. My abilities as a vocalist revolve a lot around what I’m feeling, going through, or witnessing at the time; pretty practical.”

“Maintain” Track Listing:

01. “Maintain”
02. “Blackest Of Days”
03. “New Respect”
04. “Won’t Forget”
05. “Wreck It”
06. “On Lock (Only The Defest)”
07. “The Place To Be”
08. “Your Power”
09. “Positive Mind”
10. “Hear Me Now”
11. “Deeper”
12. “Ready For This”

Comments are closed.