Darkwoods My Betrothed To Release New Album “Angel Of Carnage Unleashed” In November

Darkwoods My Betrothed, the black metal project featuring Nightwish keyboardist Tuomas Holopainen, have officially revealed the details for their new album “Angel Of Carnage Unleashed.” The record, which was recorded with Nightwish’s Kai Hahto as a session drummer, will be released on November 12 and the cover art and track listing for it can be found below:

“Angel Of Carnage Unleashed” Track Listing:

01. “Name The Dead”
02. “In Evil, Sickness and in Grief”
03. “Murktide And Midnight Sun”
04. “You Bitter Source Of Sorrow”
05. “Where We Dwell”
06. “In Thrall To Ironskull’s Heart”
07. “Massacre”
08. “Black Fog And Poison Wind”
09. “Outro”

Guitarist Jouni Mikkonen commented:

“Tuomas was featured as a session keyboardist on all previous albums. This time he was fully on board from the moment we decided to make this album and hence it was natural for him to become a full band member. He also made a substantial contribution to the creative process.”

Bassist Teemu Kautonen continued:

“The lyrics are based on the work of the renowned Finnish historian Teemu Keskisarja. His research inspired us both to carefully embed all lyrics in the appropriate historical context and to bring forth the human dimension by focusing on stories of individual people and how they experienced this perhaps darkest period of Finnish history.”

Vocalist/guitarist Pasi Kankkunen added:

“It was very important for us to have the original lineup on the comeback album. We also agreed right at the beginning of the process to share the songwriting in equal proportions — just as we did on the 1996 classic album ‘Autumn Roars Thunder’.”

A lyric video for the album’s first single, “In Evil, Sickness And In Grief,” can be found below. The band said the following about that:

“‘In Evil, Sickness And In Grief’ is our first new release since 1998. For the comeback after 23 years of silence, we chose a song that showcases everything that the band is about: murderous blastbeats, catchy riffs spiced with haunting melodies, vicious screams contrasted by clean vocals and choirs, majestic keyboards and eerily beautiful female vocals layers. These ingredients provide the musical canvas for a lyric that features a dialogue between a peasant soldier forcibly drafted to the Swedish army and the Slaughter’s Holy Angel of War, who demands such horrific deeds from the soldier that he ends up with a shredded soul.”

Comments are closed.