Smith/Kotzen (Iron Maiden, The Winery Dogs) Premiere “Taking My Chances” Video, Reveal Details For New Album

Smith/Kotzen, the project featuring Adrian Smith (Iron Maiden) and Richie Kotzen (The Winery Dogs), have premiered a new video for their song “Taking My Chances.” This track is from their new self-titled album, which will be released on March 26.

Track Listing:

01. “Taking My Chances”
02. “Running”
03. “Scars”
04. “Some People”
05. “Glory Road”
06. “Solar Fire”
07. “You Don’t Know Me”
08. “I Wanna Stay”
09. “‘Til Tomorrow”

Notably, the record features some guest drummers including Smith’s Iron Maiden bandmate Nicko McBrain, who played on “Solar Fire,” and Tal Bergman, who plays on “You Don’t Know Me,” “I Wanna Stay,” and “‘Til Tomorrow.” Kotzen handled the drumming on the other five songs.

Smith commented:

“Richie and I started working together a couple of years ago. We’d been jamming as we’d been friends for a few years before that. We both share a love for classic rock and bluesy rock, so we decided to get together and start writing some songs and it went from there. Pretty much everything on the album is handled between Richie and myself, including the production. We had developed a really strong idea of how we wanted it to sound, and I’m very pleased with how it turned out. There’s a lot of cool songs on there that we are really happy with.”

Kotzen added:

“We had a very fluid process in writing. Sometimes Adrian would send me a riff and I would immediately hear some kind of melody or a vocal idea. And sometimes it was the other way round, so it was a kind of circular motion. We’d get together whenever we could and throw some ideas around and it just evolved, which was great because there was no pressure and nothing other than just a natural course and I think the record really speaks for that.”

Comments are closed.