Devin Townsend Reveals Details For New Album “Empath”

Devin Townsend has officially revealed the details for his new album “Empath.” The effort will be released on March 29 and it will feature a number of guests including: Mike Keneally, Morgan Ågren (Mats And Morgan, Frank Zappa, Fredrik Thordendal), Anup Sastry (ex-Monuments, ex-Periphery), Samus Paulicelli (Decrepit Birth, Abigail Williams), Nathan Navarro, Elliot Desagnes, Steve Vai, Chad Kroeger (Nickelback), Anneke Van Giersbergen, Ché Aimee Dorval, Ryan Dhale, and the Elektra Women’s Choir.

“Empath” Track Listing:

01. “Castaway”
02. “Genesis”
03. “Spirits Will Collide”
04. “Evermore”
05. “Sprite”
06. “Hear Me”
07. “Why”
08. “Borderlands”
09. “Requiem”
10. “Singularity Part 1 – Adrift”
11. “Singularity Part 2 – I Am I”
12. “Singularity Part 3 – There Be Monsters”
13. “Singularity Part 4 – Curious Gods”
14. “Singularity Part 5 – Silicon Scientists”
15. “Singularity Part 6 – Here Comes The Sun”

The album will be available on limited 2 CD digipak (including an entire disc of bonus material), standard CD jewelcase, gatefold 180-gram 2LP vinyl + CD + LP-booklet, and digitally. Townsend commented:

“Hello everybody, this is Devin Townsend and I would like to formally announce that after almost a year and a half of working, I have finished ‘Empath‘. Now this record has taken me down a lot of very interesting psychological and technical avenues and the process was documented from the very get-go by a series of documentary videos that I have done, that outline everything from the gestation of the idea to the actualisation of it, through all the existential ups and downs that went on.

As such this record is different to any record that I have released thus far, and trying to get people on board for what it is versus what it isn’t, I think needs to be dealt with in a different way. Stay tuned for the making of Empath – the video series.”


Comments are closed.