Cattle Decapitation To Release “Medium Rarities” Compilation In November, Stream “An Exposition Of Insides”

Cattle Decapitation have announced that they will be releasing a new rarities collection, titled “Medium Rarities,” on November 23 via Metal Blade. The effort will come with “six previously unreleased pre-Human Jerky (1999) demos with frontman Travis Ryan on guitar (while also handling vocal duties), plus the long-sought-after “To Serve Man” (2002) bonus track, “Rotting Children For Remote Viewing” – in addition to other rarities (including the six songs from 2005’s split EP with Caninus!).” The first single, “An Exposition Of Insides,” can be streamed below:

Track Listing:

01. “Birth. Cancer. Death.”
02. “No Future”
03. “Chili Dispenser”
04. “The Recapitation Of Cattle”
05. “Thrombosis All-In”
06. “Turn On The Masters”
07. “Tripas De Pepe”
08. “Vino De Lo Sanguifero”
09. “Queso De Cabeza”
10. “Birth. Cancer. Death.” (Demo)
11. “Diarrhea De Dahmer” (Demo)
12. “Human Jerky” (Demo)
13. “Thrombosis All-In” (Demo)
14. “Colon Blo” (Demo)
15. “Flesh-Eating Disease” (Demo)
16. “Burnt To A Crisp”
17. “Sonny’s Burning”
18. “Rotting Children For Remote Viewing”
19. “You People”
20. “World Full Of Idiots”
21. “An Exposition Of Insides”
22. “No Light And No Life”
23. “Cannibalistic Invasivorism”

Ryan said the following about the release:

“‘Medium Rarities‘ is a project we started about 10 years ago, and we’re thrilled to see it finally happen! In 2008, I started compiling unreleased tracks, import bonus tracks and 7″ releases for a rarities release – and even had the art created by the legendary Wes Benscoter, when we discovered that a key track was missing that we wanted to include on it.

Our album ‘To Serve Man‘ had a bonus track ready in case there was a Japanese version released, but that never happened – and the band members’ copies of the track got lost, seemingly forever! We felt a rarities compilation released without that bonus track would be a weird idea, and so the project got shelved until recently.

Heather Parsons of Metal Blade finally was able to unearth the track from an old disc that was tucked away in the Metal Blade vault! The lyrics to the song were unearthed along with it, and so we quickly got to work with compiling and mastering the rest. This is a nice, concise compilation of unreleased and hard-to-find tracks, complete with lyrics and cheeky vinyl color variant schemes, based on how people like their meat prepared.

The European vinyl variants also resemble diseased meats…But my favorite part is the cassette, which was created to look like the vintage cassette releases we grew up on – complete with the old school Metal Blade axe logo! A lot of thought and work went into this release, and we are pleased to finally be able to present to you…’Medium Rarities‘!”


Comments are closed.