Otep Reveals Details For New Album “Kult 45”

Otep has revealed the details for her new album “Kult 45.“ The effort will be released on July 27, and it can be pre-ordered HERE.

“Kult 45” Track Listing:

01. “Hail To The Thief”
02. “Halt Right”
03. “Molotov”
04. “Said The Snake”
05. “Undefeated”
06. “Trigger Warning”
07. “Cross Contamination”
08. “Shelter In Place”
09. “Boss”
10. “To The Gallows”
11. “Sirens Calling”
12. “Invisible People”
13. “Be Brave”
14. “Wake Up” (Rage Against The Machine cover)
15. “Feral Oracle” (bonus track)
16. “The Tribe Speaks” (bonus track)

Otep commented:

“You can expect a complete and total mutiny of the senses on Kult 45. That said, it’s important for fans to know that this record is not just an indictment of Trump. The idea is rather to empower people to stand up and remind them this is our country and we have the power. It’s primarily a rallying cry for people with common sense and good-natured patriots to rise up and know that we own this nation.”

Although the album is produced well technically, lyrically, it’s very raw. Musically, we explore different genres – we’re trying to reach everyone. I don’t want to be limited to one genre or to be anchored to a particular space where I can only reach certain political minds. It’s important to me that I’m sending a clear and concise message to the Resistance – the people out there bending the barricades and fighting for justice is this country.”

The press release also featured a breakdown of various tracks:

“Otep does not hold back on Kult 45, pointing out all sorts of political duplicities and leaving them in their wake. The band explodes on aggressive, adamant anthems like “Halt Right” and “Molotov“, which act as timely outcries against the recent resurgence of hate groups.

Tracks like the in-your-face “Cross Contamination” explore the hypocrisy of the evangelical right giving Trump a pass on his infidelities, and cherry-picking scriptures to fit their ideologies. “Invisible People” approaches immigration issues while pointing a strong finger at Trump, the electronically-charged “Boss” aims to break, fight, and redefine gender roles, and “Trigger Warning” targets rape culture – specifically Stanford rapist Brock Turner -with a vengeance.

“Shelter In Place” investigates the topic of school shootings, specifically. “This song is extremely important to me because it was inspired by the bravery of those Parkland students who formed the March For Our Lives,” says Shamaya. “The outro is, ‘hey hey NRA, how many kids did you kill today?’ because they’ve actively taken measures to make our kids less safe in school.

They want to arm teachers, they want to put more guns in schools and on the street. The song itself isn’t specifically anti-gun, but aimed at the hypocrisy of the NRA and certain belief systems that lose sight of what’s truly important – the lives of our children.”

The album pre-closes with a cover of “Wake Up” – an homage to political music icons, major Kult 45 writing inspiration, and original track recording artists Rage Against The Machine – as well as a unique finisher, “The Tribe Speaks“, featuring recorded voicemails from fans expressing how OTEP‘s music has changed their lives.

“In the voicemails people say they feel empowered, that the music saved them,” explains Shamaya. “They told us that they discovered their identities with our music. There was a girl who said that she considered committing suicide and that our music pulled her out of that. These were all based on last album, and I think that this album will have a similar impact on people. These are so moving – it’s what keeps me fighting. Really.”

“We want to empower people,” ends Shamaya. “This album wasn’t written to only wake people up, it’s meant to carbonate people with the hope and confidence that they can make a difference.”

Tour Dates:

07/05 Las Vegas, NV – Hard Rock Hotel & Casino (with Dropout Kings & One Day Waiting)
07/06 Salt Lake City, UT – Metro Music Hall (with Dropout Kings & One Day Waiting)
07/07 Grand Junction, CO – Mesa Theatre (with Dropout Kings & One Day Waiting)
07/08 Denver, CO – Oriental Theater (with Dropout Kings & One Day Waiting)
07/09 Colorado Springs, CO – Black Sheep (with Dropout Kings & One Day Waiting)
07/11 Merriam, KS – Aftershock (with Dropout Kings & One Day Waiting)
07/12 Sioux Falls, SD – Icon Lounge (with Dropout Kings & One Day Waiting)
07/13 Cadott, WI – Rock Fest
07/14 Joliet, IL – The Forge (with Dropout Kings & Kore RozZik)
07/15 Detroit, MI – Diesel Concert Lounge (with Dropout Kings & Kore RozZik)
07/17 Toronto, ON – The Rockpile
07/18 Ottawa, ON – Brass Monkey
07/19 New York, NY – Gramercy Theatre (with Kore RozZik)
07/20 Reading, PA – Reverb – Rock Room (with Dropout Kings & Kore RozZik)
07/21 Poughkeepsie, NY – The Chance (with Dropout Kings & Kore RozZik)
07/22 Buffalo, NY – Buffalo Iron Works (with Dropout Kings & Kore RozZik)
07/23 Warrendale, PA – Jergel’s Rhythm Grille (with Dropout Kings & Kore RozZik)
07/25 Lexington, KY – Manchester Music Hall (with Dropout Kings & Kore RozZik)
07/26 Cincinnati, OH – Bogarts (with Dropout Kings & Kore RozZik)
07/27 Cleveland, OH – The Odeon Concert Club (with Dropout Kings & Kore RozZik)
07/28 Findlay, OH – All American Rock House (with Dropout Kings & Kore RozZik)
07/29 St. Louis, MO – Fubar (with Dropout Kings & Kore RozZik)
08/01 Oklahoma City, OK – Ruins Live (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/02 Austin, TX – Come & Take It Live (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/03 Dallas, TX – Gas Monkey Live! (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/04 Houston, TX – Scout Bar (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/05 San Antonio, TX – The Rock Box (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/07 Mesa, AZ – Club Red (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/08 Los Angeles, CA – Whisky A Go Go (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/09 Flagstaff, AZ – The Green Room (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/10 Tucson, AZ – The Rialto Theatre (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/11 Anaheim, CA – The Parish – House of Blues (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/12 Sacramento, CA – Holy Diver (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/14 Seattle, WA – Studio Seven (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/15 Portland, OR – Hawthorne Theatre (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/17 Fresno, CA – Fulton 55 (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)
08/18 Ventura, CA – Ventura Theater (with Dropout Kings & Ragdoll Sunday)


Comments are closed.