Devin Townsend To Release “Ocean Machine – Live At The Ancient Roman Theatre Plovdiv” In July

Devin Townsend‘s new live set “Ocean Machine – Live At The Ancient Roman Theatre Plovdiv” is set to be released on July 6. The effort will include his September 22, 2017 “Ocean Machine: Biomech” 20th anniversary show, which was held at the Ancient Roman Theatre in Plovdiv, Bulgaria. That concert saw him performing the album in full with the Orchestra of Plovdiv State Opera. Multiple fan-requested tracks were also performed. Here’s the available options: limited deluxe 3CD/2DVD/Blu-Ray artbook with liner notes from Townsend and a special “Reflecting The Chaos” documentary, special edition 3CD/DVD digipak, standalone Blu-ray, and digital audio download. You can pre-order the release HERE.

Track Listing:

By Request:

01. “Truth”
02. “Stormbending”
03. “Om”
04. “Failure”
05. “By Your Command”
06. “Gaia”
07. “Deadhead”
08. “Canada”
09. “Bad Devil”
10. “Higher”
11. “A Simple Lullaby”
12. “Deep Peace”

“Ocean Machine”:

01. “Seventh Wave”
02. “Life”
03. “Night”
04. “Hide Nowhere”
05. “Sister”
06. “3 A.M.”
07. “Voices In The Fan”
08. “Greetings”
09. “Regulator”
10. “Funeral”
11. “Bastard”
12. “The Death Of Music”
13. “Things Beyond Things”

Townsend commented:

“Plovdiv and this live package represents a lot to me, it signifies the end of one era, and the celebration of another. Amidst a gruelling touring year, this show came together with much blood, sweat, and tears, and the result is the culmination of many aspects of my work on one stage. ‘Ocean Machine‘ was released 20 years ago, and though Marty (drums) is no longer with us, I was able to finally perform the album in its entirety with the original bassist John ‘Squid’ Harder on this night. On a cold evening in an old city in the ancient theatre, many lifelong milestones came to a conclusion on this night and I’m exceptionally proud of it.

I am currently writing, writing, and writing some more for the next stage of my life and work, and the team of individuals who contributed to this project, from the musicians in the band and orchestra, to the crews locally and with this, management, artists, filmographers and most importantly, the audience… made this night a powerful and strangely bittersweet moment I am proud to have documented with this work.

This is a very special live recording of a very special night, and I hope you enjoy it as a monument to the things that inspired it all in the first place.

Love and light,

Devin Townsend“


Comments are closed.