What’s The Most Expensive Rock Song To Use In A Movie?

Have you ever wondered what the most expensive rock song to use in a movie is? If so, influencer Daniel Wall has your answer. According him, the track is none other than AC/DC’s “Thunderstruck.”

Wall said the following about that in a new TikTok video:

“What is the most expensive song to include in a movie? This song was in movies like Deadpool 2 [2017], Battleship [2012] and Thor: Ragnarok [2017]. We’re talking about ‘Thunderstruck‘ by AC/DC. Keep in mind that sync fees are usually anywhere between $15,000 and $60,000. So how much does this song cost to put in your movie? Half a million dollars.“

He went on to say that the $500,000 was paid for “Varsity Blues” in 1999, so the price is “definitely much, much higher now.” The music supervisor for that film, Thomas Golubic, previously commented on the hefty price himself:

“I remember being absolutely horrified when I heard that number. And we spent a lot of time coming up with what we thought were great alternates, but there was going to be no budget on that, and they had money so they paid for it.”

[via Loudwire]

Study Reveals Surgeons Perform Better While Listening To AC/DC

It looks like hard rock music can actually help surgeons perform better. According to a recent study conducted by researchers at Heidelberg University in Germany, doctors were able to increase their speed and precision by listening to AC/DC during operations.

Surgeons listening to AC/DC’s “Highway To Hell” and “T.N.T.” took about 97 seconds off their cutting time. They also increased their accuracy by about 5%. Heidelberg’s Cui Yang said the following about the findings [via The Sun]:

“Our results show that both soft rock and hard rock can enhance surgical performance.

For hard rock music, the positive effect was especially noticeable when the music was played in high volume.

It is possible that music with high rhythmicity could provide a tempo to keep up the speed of the performance and thus enhance task performance.”

The same study also showed that surgeons were able to stitch wounds about 50% faster while listening to The Beatles’ “Hey Jude” and “Let It Be.” However, those tacks worked better at a lower volume.

AC/DC’s “Back In Black” Named Rolling Stone Australia’s “Greatest Australian Album Of All Time”

AC/DC’s “Back In Black” has scored the honor of best album on Rolling Stone Australia‘s list of the “200 Greatest Australian Albums Of All Time.” Three other records from the band also made the list including: “Highway To Hell” (No. 29), “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap” (No. 60), and “Powerage” (No. 136).

Comments Off on AC/DC’s “Back In Black” Named Rolling Stone Australia’s “Greatest Australian Album Of All Time” Posted in AC/DC, News Tagged , ,

Funko Release New AC/DC, Guns N’ Roses, & KISS Pop! Deluxe Album Sets

Funko have released some new Pop! Deluxe Album figures based on AC/DC’s “Back In Black,“ Guns N’ Roses‘ “Appetite For Destruction,” and KISS’ “Destroyer.“ All three collectibles are available through Walmart.

New Angus Young (AC/DC) Blown Ups! Figure Released

A new Blown Ups! figure based on AC/DC guitarist Angus Young has been released through acdc.com. The following was said about that:

“If your favorite mode of transportation is the Highway to Hell, you’re in for a treat. Blown Ups! is ready to add some high voltage rock ‘n’ roll to your collection with the release of Angus Young. The AC/DC lead guitarist and co-founder is rocking on his guitar as an officially licensed Blown Ups! musician.

• Standing approximately 6”, these figures have a weighted design, making them fun to flick and spin. They’ll just wobble around – unless you choose to throw a knock-out punch!

• With an iconic bop bag shape, Blown Ups! appear to be inflatable, but the patented valve design is just for show. They’re actually made of hard vinyl and their arms rotate 360° for added entertainment.”

Metallica & AC/DC Episodes Of “Breaking The Band” To Premiere On Reelz This Weekend

Reelz will be premiering two new episodes of their “Breaking The Band” series on August 29. One will focus on Metallica, while the other will focus on AC/DC. A preview of the Metallica episode can be found below:

Magnetic Eye Records Reveal Full Track Listings For Upcoming AC/DC Tribute Albums

Magnetic Eye Records have officially revealed the full track listings for their upcoming AC/DC tribute albums. As previously reported, those efforts include a “Back In Black“ tribute album called “Back In Black [Redux]” and another tribute record called “The Best Of AC/DC.”

“Back In Black [Redux]” Track Listing:

01. Red Fang – “Hells Bells”
02. Howling Giant (feat. Udo Dirkschneider) – “Shoot To Thrill”
03. Supersuckers – “What Do You Do For Money Honey”
04. Smoking Lightning – “Givin The Dog A Bone”
05. Heavy Temple (feat. Valient Himself) – “Let Me Put My Love Into You”
06. Besvärjelsen – “Back In Black”
07. Jakethehawk (feat. Patrick Waters) – “You Shook Me All Night Long”
08. Whores (feat. Bill Kelliher) – “Have A Drink On Me”
09. Early Man – “Shake A Leg”
10. Earthride – “Rock And Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution”

“The Best Of AC/DC” Track Listing:

01. Witchskull – “Sin City”
02. Kal-El – “It’s A Long Way To The Top (If You Wanna Rock ‘N Roll)”
03. Bob Balch & Tony Reed – “What’s Next To The Moon”
04. Kryptograf – “Bad Boy Boogie”
05. Blue Heron – “Walk All Over You”
06. Supersuckers – “Overdose”
07. Riff Lord – “For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)”
08. Solace – “Whole Lotta Rosie”
09. Red Mesa – “If You Want Blood”
10. Ghost Ship Ritual – “The Razors Edge”
11. Caustic Casanova – “Dog Eat Dog”
12. Electric Frankenstein – “High Voltage”
13. Domkraft – “Night Prowler”

Magnetic Eye Records’ Jadd Shickler commented:

“Our Redux releases have always been and will always be works of pure love and respect for truly amazing bands and albums, our way of celebrating classics and paying proper homage to the artists who’ve made some of the most meaningful music of our lives. We take the overwhelming response as a sign of trust and support for the dedication that goes into the Redux series, and we’re thankful for the amazing response! Even with the industry-wide delays on vinyl production, we’ll be making our strongest efforts to deliver these albums into everyone’s hands before the end of 2021.”

Pre-orders are available via Kickstarter.