Dave Lombardo (Testament, Ex-Slayer, Etc.) To Release New Solo Album “Rites Of Percussion” In May

Dave Lombardo (Testament, Dead Cross, ex-Slayer) has announced that he will be releasing a new solo album, titled “Rites Of Percussion,” on May 5. The effort’s first single, “Journey Of The Host,” can be found below:

“Rites Of Percussion” Track Listing:

01. “Initiatory Madness”
02. “Separation From The Sacred”
03. “Inner Sanctum”
04. “Journey Of The Host”
05. “Maunder In Liminality”
06. “Despojo”
07. “Interfearium”
08. “Blood Let”
09. “Warpath”
10. “Guerrero”
11. “Vicissitude”
12. “Omiero”
13. “Animismo”

Lombardo commented:

“[Mike] Patton originally gave me the idea as far back as 1998. He introduced me to Tito Puente’s ‘Top Percussion’ album. I was already familiar with Tito and was a bit shocked that Patton was so musically diverse, and that he surrounded himself with musicians of the same mindset. That inspired me. I have had ideas that I’ve recorded on cassette over the years, but Patton kept insisting that I had to do a ‘drum album.’ So, the idea behind the album is years in the making. I just had to find the right time — for me — to do it.

When the pandemic hit, I thought, ‘Well, I can’t tour now.’ I immediately started working on the record. It was one of the greatest experiences I’ve ever had. I had my studio, all my drums. Nothing was in storage for once! My home became a place where I could be free and creative. On the one hand, the touring part of my livelihood had been taken away, but on the other, I finally had the time to educate myself on different software and recording techniques. It was a very educational and gratifying experience.”

Comments are closed.