Iron Maiden To Release 40th Anniversary Vinyl Edition Of “The Number Of The Beast” In November

Iron Maiden will be releasing a 40th anniversary vinyl edition of “The Number Of The Beast” on November 18. The effort will feature an alternate track listing with “Total Eclipse” set to replace “Gangland.” A live album that was recorded at the Hammersmith Odeon in London, UK in 1982 will also be included. Pre-orders can be found HERE.

Track Listing:

LP 1 – “The Number Of The Beast”:

Side 1:

01. “Invaders”
02. “Children Of The Damned”
03. “The Prisoner”
04. “22 Acacia Avenue”

Side 2:

01. “The Number Of The Beast”
02. “Run To The Hills”
03. “Total Eclipse”*
04. “Hallowed Be Thy Name”

* “Total Eclipse” replaces “Gangland”

LP 2 – “Beast Over Hammersmith”:

Side 3:

01. “Murders In The Rue Morgue”
02. “Wrathchild”
03. “Run To The Hills”
04. “Children of The Damned”
05. “The Number Of The Beast”

Side 4:

01. “Another Life”
02. “Killers”
03. “22 Acacia Avenue”
04. “Total Eclipse”
05. “Transylvania”

LP 3 – “Beast Over Hammersmith”

Side 5:

01. “The Prisoner”
02. “Hallowed Be Thy Name”
03. “Phantom Of The Opera”
04. “Iron Maiden”

Side 6:

01. “Sanctuary”
02. “Drifter”
03. “Running Free”
04. “Prowler”

Bassist Steve Harris commented:

“On this vinyl release we get the chance to put ‘Total Eclipse‘ in its rightful spot on the album for the first time. The reason it didn’t make it in the first place was that it was all a mad rush when we were finishing the record and we had to get the ‘Run To The Hills‘ single out before the tour and we basically had to pick a B-side and it was between ‘Gangland‘ and ‘Total Eclipse‘ and we just picked the wrong one, really! I think ‘Total Eclipse‘ is a stronger song and the album would have been stronger if it had been on there.”


Comments are closed.