Amorphis To Release New Album “Halo” In February

Amorphis will be releasing a new album, titled “Halo,” on February 11. You can find the cover art and track listing for that effort below:

“Halo” Track Listing:

01. “Northwards”
02. “On The Dark Waters”
03. “The Moon”
04. “Windmane”
05. “A New Land”
06. “When The Gods Came”
07. “Seven Roads Come Together”
08. “War”
09. “Halo”
10. “The Wolf”
11. “My Name Is Night”

Guitarist Esa Holopainen said the following:

“It really is a great feeling that we can still produce very decent music as a band. Perhaps a certain kind of self-criticism and long experience culminate in these latest albums. It is thoroughly recognizable Amorphis from beginning to end but the general atmosphere is a little bit heavier and more progressive and also organic compared to its predecessor.”

Vocalist Tomi Joutsen added:

“To me, ‘Halo‘ sounds a little more stripped down compared to ‘Queen Of Time‘ and ‘Under The Red Cloud‘. However, don’t get me wrong: when a certain song needs to sound big, then it sounds very big.”

Lyricist and “Kalevala” expert Pekka Kainulainen also commented:

“‘Halo‘ is a loose themed record filled with adventurous tales about the mythical North tens of thousands of years ago. The lyrics tell of an ancient time when man wandered to these abandoned boreal frontiers after the ice age. While describing the revival of a seminal culture in a world of new opportunities, I also try to reach the sempiternal forces of the human mind.”

Comments are closed.