Firewind’s Gus G. To Release New Solo Instrumental Album “Quantum Leap” In October

Gus G. (Firewind, ex-Ozzy Osbourne) has revealed the details for his new solo album “Quantum Leap.” The instrumental effort will be released on October 8 and the cover art and track listing for it can be found below:

“Quantum Leap” Track Listing:

01. “Into The Unknown”
02. “Exosphere”
03. “Quantum Leap”
04. “Chronesthesia”
05. “Enigma Of Life”
06. “Judgement Day”
07. “Fierce”
08. “Demon Stomp”
09. “Night Driver”
10. “Not Forgotten”
11. “Force Majeure” (feat. Vinnie Moore)

Gus said the following about the record in a new video message:

“It’s my first all-instrumental solo album. So this means there’s no vocals at all, no guest singers; it’s just me and my guitar. You’ve already heard a couple of the singles. The first one was called ‘Exosphere’; it came out in April. And the second one was called ‘Fierce’, which we made a pretty hilarious video for. I hope you checked it out. There’s gonna be a third single coming out at the end of August for another song, which is totally different; it’s not metal at all.

I’m really excited about this album. It was about time that I stepped up and did a full-on instrumental guitar album. A lot of people have been asking me and pushing me to do this. And to be honest, I always turned it down. But I think the recent situation with the pandemic and the fact that everybody, we all had to stay locked in in our houses and we went through months of quarantine and lockdown, that kind of sparked ideas and got me to… Music was my only gateway, basically, so that’s what I did; I just made songs. I couldn’t fly to another country and meet with other musicians and do pre-production or anything like that, so I just decided to write stuff on my own and just make a guitar album.

There’s a lot of cool stuff on there — different stuff. Obviously, my style is all over the place. I tried to push the envelope a little bit and explore some new things.”

He also discussed the other musicians he worked with:

“I have two amazing players with me on the record. One of them you already know. It’s Dennis Ward [PINK CREAM 69, UNISONIC]. Dennis has worked with me in the past. We’ve worked together the past five years, actually. We’ve done two FIREWIND albums together. He’s been co-producing and co-writing with me. And also my previous solo record, ‘Fearless’, he played bass and he sang. He’s a great singer. He’s a multi-talented guy. He mixed and mastered the record and also played bass on most of the songs. I played bass on a couple of the tracks. I also did the keyboards. And I also have a great drummer from England, [Jan-]Vincent Velazco. He’s great. He plays amazingly. You already heard him on the first two singles.”

He also added the following about the album’s title:

“I liked the title. It sounded nice. It was something different. ‘Quantum leap’ means when you’re taking a big step, so for me, making an instrumental album and letting my guitar do the talking was a big step for me, for once. I’ve always worked with singers and collaborated with many people, but this time, I decided to just let the guitar be a voice. So this was my quantum leap.”

[via Blabbermouth]

Comments are closed.