Swallow The Sun To Release New Album “Moonflowers” In November

Swallow The Sun have revealed the details for their new album “Moonflowers.” The effort will be released on November 19 and the cover art and track listing for it can be found below. Notably, select editions of the record will also include a bonus disc featuring instrumental versions of new songs that have been reworked with strings by Trio NOX. Those tracks will be released before the album’s first single. The first one, an instrumental version of “Moonflowers Bloom In Misery,” can be found below:

“Moonflowers” Track Listing:

01. “Moonflowers Bloom In Misery”
02. “Enemy”
03. “Woven Into Sorrow”
04. “Keep Your Heart Safe From Me”
05. “All Hallows’ Grieve” (featuring Oceans Of Slumber’s Cammie Gilbert)
06. “The Void”
07. “The Fight Of Your Life”
08. “This House Has No Home”

Guitarist Juha Raivio said the following about the new album:

“I know well that I should not say this, but I deeply hate this album. I hate where it takes me, how it makes me feel and what it stands for me personally. I wish it wouldn’t. But for all its honesty I got no option than also love it. That is all that matters to me with the music anyway and it doesn’t matter how it makes me feel, as long as it does. For me this album is like a mirror of a deep self-disappointment.

Even I still want to believe that there is and could be more than this in me. But I don’t need or want to talk more about it. After all music means so different things to each one of us by how we have walked our own paths, and that is a beautiful thing about music. There is no right or wrong.”

He also added the following about the bonus disc:

“After I had finished writing all the music for this record in the fall of 2020 I started to write these small instrumental versions of the album songs for the violin, viola, cello and piano. Mostly because I was wondering how it would feel like to hear all these songs first as these intimate versions instead of a full band album.

It was really beautiful to see and hear these songs come alive in this way and form, recorded live in this big church in Finland. To be able to hear the echoes of this music reflecting from the church walls and feel the very soul of these old wooden instruments played by real people in this sacred place.

Something about hearing the strings breathe this fragile beauty into these songs that carry so much pain otherwise. Now looking back, maybe I wrote these versions just for myself to be able to hear and feel at least some kind of a beauty and solace in these songs, maybe…

I wanted to create the cover art of this album myself this time, so it would stand as brutally honest for me as the music is. So I painted the moon on the ‘Moonflowers‘ cover with my own blood and I decorated it with the flowers I picked up and dried on the spring of 2016. Maybe it isn’t the most outstanding looking piece of art ever made in this world, but for me it is everything.

I wasn’t going to write any new music before I would have moved towards the right direction in my life, but finally all this music just forced itself out of me during the long nights of this hope crushing and neverending lockdown prison. Something grew out from that void eventually and writing these songs made me think a lot about moonflowers that bloom at the darkest hour of the night, so that name felt right to call the album also.”

In other news, keyboardist/vocalist Jaani Peuhu has also revealed that he will not be participating in the “Moonflowers” touring cycle:

“Sadly, COVID-19 messed up everything including the release schedules of my bands. Both the Mercury Circle and Swallow The Sun albums are being released at the same time, making it impossible for me to tour with both bands. For this reason, I decided that it’d be better for me to solely focus on MC for this release cycle.

That being said, the upcoming Swallow The Sun album will be amazing, and I am so happy we could still do it together. I wish the best of luck to StS on their tour with it!”

Comments are closed.