Marty Friedman (Ex-Megadeth) To Release New Album “Wall Of Sound” In August

Marty Friedman (ex-Megadeth) has revealed that his new album “Wall Of Sound“ will be released on August 4. The effort will feature special guests Jinxx (Black Veil Brides), Shiv Mehra (Deafheaven), and Jørgen Munkeby (Shining), and the first single “Self Pollution” can be heard below.

Friedman commented of the album:

“It’s a challenge to evolve album after album, especially on your 13th solo album. Not only as a songwriter but it is imperative to do new things on my instrument as well. Luckily this is a challenge that I love. You will find this hard to believe when you hear the density and sheer amount of guitar coming at you from all directions, but in fact all of the final guitar tracks on ‘Wall Of Sound‘ were done in 9 days.

This furious and productive pace was made possible by over a year of making demo after demo and spending more time listening and living with the music rather than just playing it. I had lived with the songs for so long and edited and re-cut them so many times, that by the time I got to the actual recording studio, it was like I had been playing the whole album on tour for a year already. I learned to do this from making ‘Inferno‘.

This is why a lot of artists’ debut albums are so strong-because they have had so much time to reflect on and fix the music, and also more importantly, attach real life experiences to the songs. I feel like I have a debut album here.”

He also added the following about the guests:

“I think Deafheaven is the one truly heavy band that comes to mind when people ask me to recommend something that’s not Japanese! I was super excited to work with Shiv from Deafheaven. We wrote “Pussy Ghost” together and it is one of the most aggressive songs I have ever played, while at the same time evoking grotesquely beautiful moods that I have never felt before.

One thing I learned from making Inferno is that when you have a guest, let them come up with music first. Let it be their baby, so they are personally invested in the song. Then arrange it and do it my way, then add more things together. This gives you a final song that really sounds like both of the people put their heart and souls into the music, as opposed to one guy doing everything and the guest just blasting out a solo somewhere.

Jorgen from Shining also guested on Inferno and when we finished that song we immediately started talking about what we would do next. For those who don’t know Shining, they are like a steroid-ed out and “genius-level musician-ed out” version of Nine Inch Nails for the 21st century, with a charismatic singer/composer (Jorgen) and a wicked sense of melody, that hits me in the gut on every song. “(Just Gimme) Something To Fight” is the one vocal track on the record and it kills. Even after finishing this song we have started working on more new things for who knows what…”

01. “Self Pollution”
02. “Sorrow And Madness” (feat. Jinxx of Black Veil Brides)
03. “Streetlight”
04. “Whiteworm”
05. “For A Friend”
06. “Pussy Ghost” (feat. Shiv Mehra of Deafheaven)
07. “The Blackest Rose”
08. “Something To Fight” (feat. Jørgen Munkeby of Shining)
09. “The Soldier”
10. “Miracle”
11. “Last Lament”


Comments are closed.