Original Arch Enemy Members Record Two New Songs Under Black Earth Banner

Black Earth, the band featuring current and former Arch Enemy members Johan Liiva, Michael Amott, Christopher Amott, Daniel Erlandsson, and Sharlee D’Angelo performing songs from the band’s first three albums, have recorded two new songs, “Burn On The Flame” and “Life Infernal.” Those tracks will appear on a remastered compilation of ’90s material titled “Path Of The Immortal.” That effort will be released exclusively in Japan on March 20.

“Path Of The Immortal” Track Listing:

01. “Burn On The Flame” (new song)
02. “The Immortal”
03. “Dead Inside”
04. “Bury Me An Angel”
05. “Stigmata”
06. “Sinister Mephisto”
07. “Demoniality”
08. “Transmigration Macabre”
09. “Angelclaw”
10. “Bridge Of Destiny”
11. “Life Infernal” (new song)
12. “Beast Of Man”
13. “Dark Insanity”
14. “Diva Satanica”
15. “Pilgrim”
16. “Black Earth”
17. “Silverwing”
18. “Time Capsule”
19. “Fields Of Desolation ’99”

Michael Amott told Japan’s “Masa Ito’s Rock TV” the following about the release [transcribed by Blabbermouth]:

“Together with Trooper Entertainment, we’ve put together a compilation of our favorite tracks from the first, second and third album that featured these guys — with Johan [Liiva on vocals] and Chris [Amott on guitar] and everything. And we’ve put together a compilation album of that ’90s material. It’s been remastered here in Japan. I actually attended the mastering session last week, and it sounds incredible. It really brought the old tracks… it gave them a new life. And then we actually recorded two new songs in Sweden. So we’ve been quite busy with that.”

He continued:

“It’s quite complicated getting everybody together to do that. But we wrote these two new songs. I wrote one with Chris, and then I wrote one myself. They’re called ‘Burn On The Flame’ and ‘Life Infernal’ — two brand new tracks that are kind of in the style of what we used to do, I think. And they turned out really amazing too. We actually went back to Fredrik Nordström’s studio, Fredman, where we made the first three records. So we worked with the original producer. And he mixed it, and it sounds really powerful — very cool.”

He went on to say the recording sessions were a “very, very strange” experience, “because [they] just picked it up where [they] left off.” He also added:

“After about an hour or so, we were doing the same kind of jokes and the same kind of chemistry. And the sounds as well. I was thinking maybe it was gonna sound very different. Also because of us — we all progress and change over the years, and develop. And also Fredrik, of course. He had a new studio now, with some different equipment. But actually, he just managed to get that old-school sound. And it was a lot of fun. Kind of a little bit nostalgia.”

View this post on Instagram

Had a blast writing and recording 2 new songs for this release, they came out really sick! Hopefully we’ll get those tracks released in some shape of form worldwide soon! #blackearth #Repost @blackearthofficial ・・・ A Japan only compilation album consisting of 17 remastered tracks lifted off the first three Arch Enemy albums + 2 brand NEW Black Earth tracks written and recorded in December 2018 (mixed by Fredrik Nordström at Studio Fredman). Release date in Japan is March 20th. Front cover artwork by Mark Riddick. Japan tour in May 2019. アーチ・エネミーの初期メンバーで構成されたブラック・アース 新曲入りベスト盤の詳細発表 アーチ・エネミー(ARCH ENEMY)の初期メンバー(3rdアルバム『Burning Bridges』リリース時)で構成されたプロジェクト・バンド、ブラック・アース(Black Earth)。5月に来日公演も決定している彼らの新曲入りベスト・アルバムの詳細発表。アルバム・タイトルは『Path Of The Immortal: 暗黒の地球』。約20年ぶりに当時のメンバーで制作された新曲2曲に、アーチ・エネミーの初期3タイトルから選曲しリマスタリングした楽曲を収録。この作品は日本で3月20日発売予定。リリース元はTrooper Entertainment ●『Path Of The Immortal: 暗黒の地球』。 1.バーン・オン・ザ・フレイム(BURN ON THE FLAME) 新曲 2.ジ・イモータル(THE IMMORTAL) 3.デッド・インサイド(DEAD INSIDE) 4.ベリー・ミー・アン・エンジェル(BURY ME AN ANGEL) 5.スティグマータ(STIGMATA) 6.シニスター・メフィスト(SINISTER MEPHISTO) 7.ディーモナイアリティ(DEMONIALITY) 8.トランスマイグレイション・マカーブラ(TRANSMIGRATION MACABRE) 9.エンジェルクロウ(ANGELCLAW) 10. ブリッジ・オヴ・デスティニー(BRIDGE OF DESTINY) 11. ライフ・インファーナル(LIFE INFERNAL) 新曲 12. ビースト・オヴ・マン(BEAST OF MAN) 13. ダーク・インサニティ(DARK INSANITY) 14. ディーヴァ・サタニカ(DIVA SATANICA) 15. ピルグリム(PILGRIM) 16. ブラック・アース(BLACK EARTH) 17. シルヴァーウイング(SILVERWING) 18. タイム・カプセル(TIME CAPSULE) 19. フィールズ・オブ・ディソレイション'99 (FIELDS OF DESOLATION'99) BLACK EARTH ”BURNING BRIDGES” 20th ANNIVERSARY JAPAN TOUR 2019 愛知5月16日(木) NAGOYA CLUB QUATTRO 宮城5月17日(金) SENDAI RENSA 北海道5月19日(日)OTARU GOLD STONE 東京5月22日(水)SHIBUYA CLUB QUATTRO 東京5月23日(木)SHIBUYA CLUB QUATTRO 
熊本5月25日(土) KUMAMOTO V1 

A post shared by 𝕸𝖎𝖈𝖍𝖆𝖊𝖑 𝕬𝖒𝖔𝖙𝖙 (@michael_amott) on


Comments are closed.