Red Fang, Osees, Magic Sword, Etc. Contribute To Dungeons & Dragons-Inspired Compilation “Spelljams”

Chris Funk (The Decemberists) has curated a new compilation album inspired by the Dungeons & Dragons game “Spelljammer: Adventures In Space.” The effort is titled “Spelljams” and it features Red Fang, Osees, Magic Sword, Lucius, Black Marble, Shabazz Palaces, and more. The compilation is available in various digital outlets and it can also be pre-ordered on vinyl.

“Spelljams” Track Listing:

01. Magic Sword – “Seeds Of Destruction”
02. Osees – “Arena Of Blood”
03. Reggie Watts – “Space Is A Place”
04. TEKE::TEKE – “Visible Lights”
05. Black Marble – “Far”
06. Mikaela Davis – “Left Hand Path”
07. Lucius – “Love Is The Disaster”
08. Penny & Sparrow – “Xedalli”
09. Y La Bamba – “Moon Dancer”
10. Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – “Light Of Xaryxis”
11. MonoNeon – “Spacefighters”
12. Cardioid & Pink Paint – “Crystalline Climbers”
13. Devon Gilfillian – “Me And The Moon”
14. Red Fang – “Endless Sea”
15. Nolan Potter’s Nightmare Band – “Ghost Of The Nautiloid”
16. Deru & Arooj Aftab – “Forgotten Land”
17. Wizard Of Waz – “Topolah’s Song”
18. Califone – “Chaotic.Evil.Astral.Elves”
19. Shabazz Palaces – “The Door To Endlessness”

Funk commented:

“Helping facilitate bringing this world to life through music and the amazing artists’ visions that were selected was an honor of a lifetime. I am of the opinion when people think of Dungeons & Dragons that there is a preconceived underscore of what these worlds might sound like. With this bold return to Spelljammer we were excited to push the boundaries deep into Wildspace, working with artists from diverse musical backgrounds that could challenge what music in the multiverse of the world’s greatest roleplaying game might sound like. Each artist was given a character or plot prompt from the storyline, then challenged to write an original composition based on Light of Xaryxis. We hope you enjoy the result!”

Comments are closed.