SOiL To Release New Covers Album “Play It Forward” In August, Share Video For Their Cover Of Halsey’s “Nightmare”

SOiL have announced that they will be releasing a new covers album, titled “Play It Forward,” on August 26. A video for the effort’s latest single, a cover of Halsey‘s “Nightmare,” can be found below:

“Play It Forward” Track Listing:

01. “Runnin’ Down A Dream” (Tom Petty cover)
02. “Thunder Kiss ’65” (White Zombie cover)
03. “Nightmare” (Halsey cover)
04. “No Voices In The Sky” (Motörhead cover)
05. “Snap Your Fingers, Snap Your Neck” (Prong cover)
06. “Monkey Wrench” (Foo Fighters cover)
07. “What It’s Like” (Everlast cover)
08. “I Wanna Be Sedated” (Ramones cover)
09. “Rockin’ In The Free World” (Neil Young cover)
10. “Unsung” (Helmet cover)
11. “Black Betty” (Lead Belly cover)

Bassist Tim King commented:

“When we were approached by Cleopatra Records with the idea to record a covers album, it seemed both exciting and challenging. Outside of the song ‘Black Betty‘, we have never really covered any songs before. This gave us a chance to explore some songs we enjoyed growing up on and also taking songs that were never intended to be hard rock or metal and put our own spin on them.

It proved to be quite the challenge with our downtuning and figuring out all the different parts and effects in the original versions that you never quite notice during casual listens. The songs we thought were going to be super easy turned out to be the most challenging.

In the end, we were very happy with the way it all came out and we feel it will give the SOiL fans something to enjoy and have fun with. That was our main goal. To do something fun in the wake of all the horrible things that have been going on in the world.”

Comments are closed.