Moonspell Reveal Cover Art & Track Listing For New Portuguese-Language Album “1755”

Moonspell have revealed the cover art and track listing for their new Portuguese-language album “1755.” The effort, which focuses on the 1755 Lisbon earthquake, will be released on November 3.

“1755” Track Listing:

01. “Em Nome Do Medo”
02. “1755”
03. “In Tremor Dei” (feat. Paulo Bragança)
04. “Desastre”
05. “Abanão”
06. “Evento”
07. “1 De Novembro”
08. “Ruínas”
09. “Todos Os Santos”
10. “Lanterna Dos Afogados”

Fernando Ribeiro commented:

“I have been fascinated with Portuguese history since I can remember.

The year of 1755 marked the birth of a new Portugal. Much more than just the greatest natural disaster ever to occur on European soil, the great Lisbon Quake, shockwaves cannot be reduced to a dramatic death toll.

From absolute tragedy, a new city was born, giving way to a new time where Portuguese relied more on themselves than on the crown or the cross, granting us much of the city, the lay country, the free will that we enjoy today.

This is not just another album from us. It’s a musical and lyrical history document, a homage we pay to our legacy and to the amazing skills and resilience of our fellow Portuguese back then, of all mankind when brought down to the knees by the violent forces of nature and reason. Whatever is, is right… yet the earth shakes.”


Comments are closed.