The Mars Volta To Release Acoustic Version Of Their Self-Titled Album In April

The Mars Volta have announced a new acoustic version of their self-titled album, which they are calling “Que Dios Te Maldiga Mi Corazon.” The effort will be available on April 21 and its first single,a reworked version of “Blank Condolences,” can be found below:

“Que Dios Te Maldiga Mi Corazon” Track Listing:

01. “Blacklight Shine” (Acoustic)
02. “Graveyard Love” (Acoustic)
03. “Shore Story” (Acoustic)
04. “Vigil” (Acoustic)
05. “Que Dios Te Maldiga Mi Corazon” (Acoustic)
06. “Cerulea” (Acoustic)
07. “Flash Burns From Flashbacks” (Acoustic)
08. “Palm Full Of Crux” (Acoustic)
09. “No Case Gain” (Acoustic)
10. “Tourmaline” (Acoustic)
11. “Equus 3” (Acoustic)
12. “Collapsible Shoulders” (Acoustic)
13. “The Requisition” (Acoustic)

The following was said about the record in a press release:

“The upcoming new album isn’t simply more content, but a bold, radical, political album, and one that recontextualizes the music of the group’s powerful last album within the lineage of the Latin and Caribbean sounds that [Omar] Rodríguez-López has been mining his entire career, only many ears couldn’t hear past the distorted guitars to know what was going on. The songs are re-orchestrated and set to the traditional Caribbean rhythms that Rodríguez-López grew up on. Here, “Black Condolences” becomes an object lesson in this music, segueing be-tween three different traditional rhythms across its three-and-a-half minutes.”

Omar Rodríguez-López added:

“I realized I could finally make a record like this now, I just had to make it happen. That was the experiment. And it was super-fun. I feel like The Mars Volta is finally beginning – that’s why the last album was self- titled, because we’ve finally stripped everything away and arrived at what the whole concept was at the beginning. And this acoustic version comes from a profound place, with its own meaning and philosophy, and its own reason for be-ing.”

Comments are closed.