As I Lay Dying Premiere New Song “Roots Below”

As I Lay Dying have premiered a new song titled “Roots Below.” This track will appear on the upcoming deluxe edition of the band’s latest album “Shaped By Fire.”

Tim Lambesis commented:

“It’s exciting to be working on music again after some downtime. ‘Roots Below‘ was originally a B-side leftover from when we recorded ‘Shaped By Fire‘, but Phil and Josh really brought new life to it when they recently finished it and added new layers. It’s been refreshing to get back to the creative process with the same team of songwriters being intact that have been writing with me since they joined the band.

The lyrics were influenced by someone I recently met who shared a story of trauma with me that would have destroyed most people, yet from that struggle came strength, openness, and growth that inspired me.”

Phil Sgrosso added:

“‘Roots Below’ was a track I initially wrote for the Shaped By Fire album, but at the time we collectively felt it needed more time and attention to develop to its fullest potential. We were finally able to piece it all together along with some other material taken from the Shaped By Fire touring cycle, bundling it all into a deluxe version of the album. Apart from the studio versions of ‘Roots Below’ and ‘Destruction or Strength,’ there will be an assortment of live songs captured on tour from 2019 in Europe, several ballad/electronic re-interpretations, a studio version of an instrumental track we wrote exclusively for the live show, an instrumental version of the entire album, as well as some other transitional pieces from our set that we wanted to share as part of this release. This has been a very productive first step towards getting back into the creative zone and beginning to focus on new material for next year.”

Here’s the tracks that will appear on the deluxe edition of “Shaped By Fire”:

01. “Re-Separation” (instrumental)
02. “Roots Below”
03. “Destruction Or Strength”
04. “My Own Grave” (re-interpretation)
05. “Redefined” (re-interpretation)
06. “Pre-Shaped By Fire” (live intro)
07. “Euphony From Ashes” (live outro)
08. “Blinded” (Live from Munich)
09. “My Own Grave” (Live From Munich)
10. “Burn To Emerge” (instrumental)
11. “Blinded” (instrumental)
12. “Shaped By Fire” (instrumental)
13. “Undertow” (instrumental)
14. “Torn Between” (instrumental)
15. “Gatekeeper” (instrumental)
16. “The Wreckage” (instrumental)
17. “My Own Grave” (instrumental)
18. “Take What’s Left” (instrumental)
19. “Redefined” (instrumental)
20. “Only After We’ve Fallen” (instrumental)
21. “The Toll It Takes” (instrumental)

Comments are closed.