AFI Premiere New Song “Get Dark”

AFI have premiered a new song titled “Get Dark.” This track is from the band’s new EP “The Missing Man,” which will be released on December 7.

Jade Puget said the following about the song and EP:

“I was aiming for something a little raw for ‘Get Dark‘. In fact, I used most of the vocal takes from the very first time Davey sang it, as well as some of my guitar parts from when we were writing it. The song is built on the sparseness and simplicity of the verse drum groove and guitar riff that opens up into this big anthemic chorus.

For the EP, the same idea of a certain rawness was really important to the overall vibe. I feel like it’s easy to turn out a slick, polished set of songs, but to walk that fine line between studio creation and live sound can be difficult. It’s been an intense labor of love and we can’t wait for everyone to hear it.”

Davey Havok added the following about the track:

“From the initial performance and recording, it had a driving sense of forward movement and penetrating connection. The song’s themes of deification and deference, self-loathing and vanity, captivation and release, damage and healing, are posed in a subtle invitation to those inherently compelled to accept.”

“The Missing Man” Track Listing:

01. “Trash Bat”
02. “Break Angels”
03. “Back Into The Sun”
04. “Get Dark”
05. “The Missing Man”

In other news, the group have also booked two release shows:

12/09 Sacramento, CA – Ace Of Spades
12/10 San Diego, CA – The Observatory North Park

Comments are closed.