Bring Me The Horizon’s Oli Sykes On New Album “Amo”: “It Sounds Nothing Like Anything We’ve Ever Done Before”

Bring Me The Horizon’s Oli Sykes recently spoke to Metal Hammer about the band’s new album “Amo“ (out January 11) and their single “Mantra.” According to him, the group’s new material “sounds nothing like anything [they’ve] ever done before.”

Sykes said the following:

“It’s not anti-love, it’s unbiased in that respect, it just explores stuff. I went through a divorce a couple of years ago and I was really reluctant to write about it, but in the end I needed to get it out of me and deal with it. Not that I was so broken up about it, but sometimes when you go through something traumatic, even when you think you’re over it you don’t realise what you’re still holding on to. Whether it’s the way you treat other people or losing trust, I thought I need to explore this myself so I can deal with it.”

He continued:

“It’s not really an angry record or anything like that, it’s more about looking at stuff and going over it and mentally dumping it. It goes in to stuff that’s not about me that’s more about society and stuff like that. You’ll find out.”

“Our last record [‘That’s The Spirit] we set out to make a record we could see ourselves playing in bigger venues – I like to call it a big-budget rock album – and every song could have been a single. I always looked up to Linkin Park’s ‘Hybrid Theory‘ where every song could be a single. I know some people don’t think that’s so cool, but I used to think that was amazing.

With [‘Amo‘] it’s a bit different. We’ll write some songs that can be on the radio – we love to write those songs, it’s a challenge for us – but at the same time we’re gonna write some songs that throw everything out the window that you know about us. You couldn’t even edit it into a single if you wanted to. We’re gonna do whatever the fuck we want. In some aspects it’s a heavier record, which sounds so cliché, but it is.

Don’t get me wrong, if anyone’s thinking we’re going to bring out a much heavier album, it’s not. There are some songs that are poppier than anything we’ve ever done before, but there are some songs that are weirder. Some that don’t even sound like rock songs, they’re still heavy and dark, but they tap into a different psyche and place. It sounds nothing like anything we’ve ever done before.”

Alice In Chains Joined Onstage By The Doors’ Robby Krieger

During their August 29 show at the Palladium in Los Angeles, CA, Alice In Chains were joined onstage by The Doors guitarist Robby Krieger. You can see footage of them performing “Rooster” below:

Limited Edition 7″ Beartooth Flexi Disc To Be Released Through Kerrang!

Beartooth will be releasing a 7″ picture flexi disc (limited to 500), featuring their track “Infection”, in the new issue of Kerrang!, which is set to be released on September 5. You can find more information regarding that HERE and pick up the band’s new album “Disease” on September 28.

Behemoth’s Los Angeles & New York “I Loved You At Your Darkest” Listening Parties Moved To Bigger Venues

Behemoth previously announced some listening parties for their new album “I Loved You At Your Darkest” (out October 5) and now the events have been moved to bigger venues due to high demand. The New York City one will now take place at Vandal on September 11 and the Los Angeles one will now be held at State Social House on September 13. Nergal plans to make an appearance at both events and fans can now RSVP via (New York) and (Los Angeles). Admittance will be on a first-come, first-served basis, and a RSVP does not guarantee an entry.

Vans Warped Tour Founder Kevin Lyman Hospitalized

Kevin Lyman, founder of the Vans Warped Tour, has been hospitalized for an undisclosed reason. He said the following on Twitter:

“37 years of hard charging in the music business and it to [sic] only two weeks of teaching to put me in the hospital. Seriously take care of yourselves we are not invincible!”

This news comes after the Warped Tour completed its final cross-country run earlier this month.

Ozzy Osbourne Says He Has “Plenty Of Ideas” For A New Album

Ozzy Osbourne has repeatedly said that he has no plans to retire after his “No More Tears 2” farewell tour and he has even mulled over the possibility of making a new album. Now, in a recent interview with Boston Herald, the singer talked about a new album once again. He said the following:

“I have a bunch of songs written and have plenty of ideas and really want to do a new album, but as to when and how it will come together, I do not really know.”


Escape The Fate Premiere “I Am Human” Music Video

Escape The Fate have premiered a new video for the title track of their latest album “I Am Human.” The band said the following:

“It’s a really important time for us to share this song with the world. We are in a period of instability, adversity, and change.. but also it’s a time for hope and possibility. We are all in this life together, and ‘I Am Human’ sends the message that it’s okay to be yourself. We hope this song can bring people from all walks of life together. This is ‘I Am Human'”

Unleashed Premiere “Lead Us Into War” Lyric Video

Unleashed have premiered a lyric video for their new song “Lead Us Into War,” via Loudwire. This track is from the band’s new album “The Hunt for White Christ,” which will be released on October 26. That effort is the fourth part of the conceptual storyline that was created by vocalist/bassist Johnny Hedlund.

“The Hunt For White Christ” Track Listing:

01. “Lead Us Into War”
02. “You Will Fall”
03. “Stand Your Ground”
04. “Gram”
05. “Terror Christ”
06. “They Rape The Land”
07. “The City Of Jorsala Shall Fall”
08. “The Hunt For White Christ”
09. “Vidaurgelmthul”
10. “By The Western Wall”
11. “Open To All The World”

Cancer To Release New Album “Shadow Gripped” In November

Cancer have revealed the details for their new album “Shadow Gripped.” The effort will be released on November 2 and it will also include a free exclusive bonus track download of “Crocodile Itch,” which will be delivered on the release date with each CD or vinyl pre-order. Furthermore, Bloodbath’s Anders Nyström is expected to guest on the album as well.

“Shadow Gripped” Track Listing:

01. “Down The Steps”
02. “Garrotte”
03. “Ballcutter”
04. “Organ Snatcher”
05. “The Infocidal”
06. “Half Man Half Beast”
07. “Crimes So Vile”
08. “Thou Shalt Kill”
09. “Shadow Gripped”
10. “Disposer”