Max & Iggor Cavalera Planning Brazilian Tour Of Sepultura’s “Beneath The Remains” & “Arise” Material

Max and Iggor Cavalera are planning a Brazilian tour where they will focus on material from their former band Sepultura‘s “Beneath The Remains” and “Arise.“ The trek is expected to feature five shows billed as “Max & Iggor Cavalera: 89/91 – Special Setlist.” So far, a November 3 date has been booked in São Paulo. It is unknown if they will bring the trek to other countries like they did with their “Roots” tour.

[via The PRP]

Megadeth Hoping To Release New Album In April, New Material May Have Blast Beats

During an interview with Mitch Lafon, Dave Mustaine said Megadeth are hoping to release their new album in April. He also added that drummer Dirk Verbeuren (ex-Soilwork) has been working on “mind-blowing” stuff with blast beats.

Mustaine said the following:

“We’ve been putting new music up in my Dropbox. And the stuff that Dirk’s been playing along to it is scary. We’ve never had any of those blast-beat kind of things in our music before.

“Some of the drumming on this is mind-blowing. It’s making me a better guitar player again, which I love. But I never thought we were gonna be playing this fast or this aggressive again.”

He also added the following about release plans and a big festival they have in the works:

“We’re hoping April of next year. We’ve got a huge festival that we’re gonna be announcing and I’ll have management tell you everything as soon as possible.

“It’s really a big deal. It’s kind of an equivalent of Gigantour, but it’s a much fresher idea. We’ve got that set up in about 10 cities in April. We’re gonna do that again for a three-day weekend in the middle of the year, and then we’re gonna do probably about another 10 of those dates at the latter part of the year.

“We’ve got a bunch of other really fantastic things that I wish I could tell you. We’ve got a cruise, like a ‘Murder Who Died’ kind of boot camp thing we’re gonna be doing over in Europe. And Pledge [Music] is gonna be in the studio with us again, and blah blah blah blah… So it’s a great day to be a Megadeth fan.”

[via Ultimate-Guitar]

Baroness Drummer Says He Recently Had To Head Home From Tour After His Girlfriend “Got Assaulted In Her Apartment By A Would-Be Rapist”

Baroness recently performed as an acoustic trio after drummer Sebastian Thomson needed to go home for a family emergency. Now, Thomson has revealed the shocking reason for his departure. He said the following:

“I’m back! Thanks for all the well wishes everyone. Just so you have an idea of what happened, my gf got assaulted in her apartment by a would-be rapist. Luckily she’s a total badass and fought him off after an intense struggle. I’m so proud of what a hero she is. NYPD was super professional and helpful and nabbed the loser in 24 hours. I also want to thank my Baroness family for being so unconditionally supportive. Thanks again everyone, back to rocking! ❤🥁🎸”

[via The PRP]

Comments Off on Baroness Drummer Says He Recently Had To Head Home From Tour After His Girlfriend “Got Assaulted In Her Apartment By A Would-Be Rapist” Posted in Baroness, News Tagged , ,

Blink-182’s Mark Hoppus Says He Once Advised The U.S. Military On How To Capture Saddam Hussein

Here’s a bizarre story for you. Blink-182’s Mark Hoppus was recently asked if he could reveal “the least plausible story” about himself “that is true” by a fan on Twitter. He then responded by saying he once advised the U.S. military on how to capture Saddam Hussein.

Hoppus said the following:

“On an aircraft carrier in the Persian Gulf, I told a Navy Admiral on his way to meet with the Joint Chiefs of Staff my ideas on how to capture Saddam Hussein.”

He then followed up with more details:

“At the time, Hussein was in hiding but continued releasing videotaped messages to his followers. My idea was to have trucks with big speakers drive around BLASTING time code just out of frequency range of human hearing, but within the dynamic range of the video camera’s microphone. When Saddam released a tape, he would have inadvertently recorded the time code. Using the time code, you could go back and pinpoint a general radius from where the truck was. With that information, you start the research. Also, knowing the general area of the recording, you can bring in more trucks to canvas there, and if you don’t find him and he released another videotaped message, you can use the multiple trucks’ time codes for triangulation, revealing his exact location.”

Hussein was captured by the American military in December 2003 and was sentenced to death by hanging in December 2006 for crimes against humanity.

DevilDriver Tease Cover Of Steve Earle‘s “Copperhead Road“ Feat. Brock Lindow (36 Crazyfists)

Dez Fafara has shared a preview of DevilDriver’s cover of Steve Earle‘s “Copperhead Road.“ The track features Brock Lindow (36 Crazyfists) and it will appear on the band’s outlaw country covers album “Outlaws Til’ The End: Vol. 1″ (out July 6).

Alleged Victim Who Accused Maynard James Keenan (Tool, Etc.) Of Rape Issues New Statement: “I Will Testify If Need Be”

Despite recent findings that seem to suggest the recent rape accusation against Maynard James Keenan (Tool, A Perfect Circle, etc.) may be a hoax, the alleged victim has now issued a new statement to New York Daily News. The accuser told the publication that they “do not fear libel or any lawsuit” and that they “will testify if need be.”

Here’s the full statement:

“I do not fear libel or any lawsuit, because he knows that he’s guilty. I will testify if need be. The whole point of this is to stop him and others from assaulting anyone else.”

For those unaware, the alleged victim claimed Keenan raped her when she was 17 in a series of tweets on an anonymous Twitter account. Keenan has since denied the allegation. The accusation is still uncorroborated, and it is still unknown if anyone has made an effort to contact authorities. Stay tuned for further developments.

Watch Dave Lombardo Perform Slayer’s “Postmortem” With Body Count

Ex-Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo joined Body Count onstage during the band’s June 29 set at the Tuska festival in Helsinki, Finland to perform the last part of their “Raining Blood”/”Postmortem” medley. You can see footage of that below: