Metal Anarchy’s New Music Showcase: Exclusive Q&A With Tarah Who?

Time for the next edition of Metal Anarchy’s “new music showcase,” the feature where I introduce you to up and coming bands that readers of this site may find interesting. This time I have an exclusive Q&A with Tarah Who?.

METAL ANARCHY: Tell me a little about your band:

Matt Peltcher (Bass, Backing Vocals): Tarah Who? is grunge with hints of punk and metal. Tarah is from Paris, FR. I am from Los Angeles, US. and Shaina is from Boston, US. We are currently based out of Los Angeles.

Shaina Mikee Keiths (Drums, Backing Vocals): We’re weirdos…yet kick ass.

Tarah G. Carpenter (Vocals, Guitar): Yes, definitely 90’s influenced..

METAL ANARCHY: Who are your main influences?

Peltcher: My main influences are Joy Division and The Cure. I wanted to play music thanks to these two bands.

Keiths: Keith Moon, Ringo Starr, John Bonham, Ginger Baker, Taylor Hawkins, David Bowie, etc etc!

Carpenter: The Distillers, Foo Fighters, Hole, Melissa Auf der Maur…

METAL ANARCHY: What is your latest release and why should readers of this site check it out?

Peltcher: “Half Middle Child Syndrome” is our upcoming new release. It’s got a mix of some great intense songs like “Ache” as well as some fun songs like “Pay to Play” in there. We had so much fun making this album with all the cool people who worked with us.

Keiths: Our latest release isn’t released yet….but will be June 21st!

Carpenter: “Half Middle Child Syndrome” will come out officially (digitally) on June 21st, and If you are in Los Angeles, you can stop by the Viper Room and celebrate with us. You can grab a copy of the EP there!
We have worked on this ep, with Jason Orme who is the guitar player for artists like Alanis Morissette, Sarah Mc Lachlan etc.. Now I know that it’s not really Metal (since we are being interviewed by a metal magazine:) ) BUT Jason is a very ecclectic and talented guitar player. Working with awesome musicians, like Shaina Mikee Keiths and Matt Peltcher was also a great experience. Matt has been in the band since July 2016 and Shaina had just joined the band. Drummers, should definitely check us out, since our music is very drum oriented. If you are into rage rock, you should definitely come check us out:)

METAL ANARCHY: What can people expect when they go to your live shows?

Peltcher: Our live shows are loud and intense. Fans seem to really dig us live. Our next show is gonna be great. Come down to the Viper in Hollywood on June 21st.

Keiths: Raw energy, passion and total badass-ery.

Carpenter: Yes, all of what they said. Every show is different, but they are all full of energy and passion.

METAL ANARCHY: Where do you see your band heading in 5 years?

Peltcher: Touring internationally. Writing more. Don’t know the exact details but definitely awesome stuff will happen. Follow us on social media or for more details!

Keiths: Touring multiple countries!

Carpenter: No matter what and how we plan, we never know the path that we will choose. depending on the opportunities that will come to us. I can tell you that we next year we will be touring and and recording more new songs. Hopefully everything will pick up and we will be doing the same thing in bigger formats:)


Rancid Stream New Song “Where I’m Going”

Rancid have premiered a new new track titled “Where I’m Going.” This song is from their new album, “Trouble Maker,” which will be released on June 9.

“American Valhalla” Documentary On Iggy Pop And Josh Homme’s “Post Pop Depression” To Recieve Theatrical Release In June

“American Valhalla,” the new documentary about Iggy Pop And Josh Homme’s (Queens Of The Stone Age) “Post Pop Depression” album and tour, is now set to hit theaters on June 6. You can find an extended trailer for that below.

Here’s a description of the film:

Directed by Andreas Neumann and Joshua Homme, American Valhalla tells the story of an unlikely musical collaboration between two mavericks of American rock: Joshua Homme, frontman of Queens of the Stone Age and Iggy Pop, the Godfather of Punk. The film follows the recording of Iggy’s final album ‘Post Pop Depression’ in the California desert, with his band comprising of Homme, his QOTSA bandmate Dean Fertita and Arctic Monkeys’ drummer, Matt Helders, as well as the explosive tour that builds to a crowning performance at London’s iconic Royal Albert Hall. Featuring stunning cinematography and intimate access, American Valhalla reveals the growth of an intense bond between the musicians who have taken to heart the mantra: “you risk nothing you gain nothing”.

Rammstein Post “Mann Gegen Mann” Live Video From “Rammstein: Paris”

Rammstein have posted a new live video for “Mann Gegen Mann.” The footage comes from their “Rammstein Paris” live release which was released on May 19. That effort features the band’s March 2012 shows at the Palais Ominsports de Paris-Bercy in Paris, France.

Jesse Leach On New Times Of Grace Music: “The New Stuff Is Shaping Up To Be A Whole Different World Of Sound And Words”

Jesse Leach (Killswitch Engage) has commented the new Times Of Grace material he is writing. You can see what he had to say in the below Instagram post:

View this post on Instagram

Writing "Times of Grace" lyrics by candle and incense as one does… . I enjoy carrying the knowledge that this recording will be far different from the last one. This one has gone down so many new roads sonically and lyrically. Hell I haven't even begun to demo and I am already so artistically satisfied just knowing the skeleton of this record. I know we all live in generation "I want it now" but I can assure you this album will take some time. That being said here and there I will give brief insights (and perhaps little snippets as we get recording). For now just wanted to drop a little "hey writing stuff, yes we are making another record" type deal….. So be patient please. I will however leave you with this, the new stuff is shaping up to be a whole different world of sound and words. I will be using different melodic registers and less growl substituted by more "melodic yelling." The lyrics are primarily quite melancholy so far but most of my lyrics often do begin that way and find light as the process unfolds… that's all for now… ✌🏼🔥🙏🏼#TimesOfGrace

A post shared by 🏴JeSsE LeAcH 🏴 (@jesse_d_leach) on